Results 1 to 15 of 15
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, what i need to know is can i do more to fine tune my machine, due to age, the amount of ram and the power of the CPU,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, allow me to explain my system.:- basically, mob is a CUSI-M, running intel Celeron cpu socket A 370,,,,,,,,ram, is SDRAM, 2X512 MHZ which gives me 1 gb

    i am running 160 gb Western HDD
    30 gb used by software
    this leaves me with approx 130 gb free space,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, my problem is it is sooooooooooooo slow


    windows xp pro sp3,,,all up to date

    software i run Win Patrol current version

    Threat fire

    Avast antivirus Free edition

    Comodo Security suite, with antivirus disabled, but all other services enabled

    Malwarebytes

    Spybot search and destroy

    Ccleaner

    Revouninstaller

    Process hacker

    Firefox

    Google Chrome

    IE7

    * note these are just some of the programs i have on this system.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, i will be constructing a NEW system asap but, in the mean time how can i gain some Performance back,( mainly speed) without removing programs???? i know the system is old

    thanks Alan G

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    One of the things to speed up PC's is to limit the apps starting with windows. Each of these apps use resources such as RAM and CPU cycles. All I have start in the background is AV/AM (I use MSE) which includes both AV/AM. I also have my bluetooth radio running for obvious reasons and my Alps pointing S/W for my touchpad. That's it. I do not allow anything else to start at Windows start. Nothing else is needed. If you want Adobe reader for example, it will start when you open a file that needs it, it does not need to be running in the background, etc.

    It seems that any S/W you install wants to start itself when Windows starts unless you tell it not to. You have to be proactive to stop this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Running WinPatrol, Avast and Comodo at the same time may be your problem. You should run one firewall and one AV program, but you seem to have 2 firewall programs. Personally I use one combined package and pay the vendor money for the privilege.

    Try turning off one at a time and see if it makes a difference?

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Ted for your prompt reply.
    Maybe i did misled you with the software i listed. I am aware of what software starts with my system.
    this being,, just :-
    Comodo

    threatfire

    winpatrol

    Avast

    Along with the network connection this is all the software that loads at boot up!

    As for the rest, these are programs i have scheduled to run once a week or when needed. Trojans ,Malware and the nasties we find on the net Do have a hard time landing on my machine!
    Thats the way i like it.

    But i do see your point, Ted, but this will not gain the desired effect i seek.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Alan Gore View Post
    ,,,,,,,,,,, my problem is it is sooooooooooooo slow
    Has your computer always been this slow, or is it a more recent development? The most advanced cpu socket 370 could handle was a Pentium 3. The Celeron cpu of that generation was even less capable than the P3. A lot of folks only ran antivirus protection back then.

    If you are comfortable swapping out your cpu, you might be able to find a Pentium 3 Socket 370 at eBay. You would need to check your manual or find one online for your computer to verify the maximum cpu (speed, cache, voltage, etc.) your motherboard can handle. I bought a Pentium 3 Slot 1 processor for an old Pentium 2 system for $1.50 on eBay. It was cheap and gave the old computer a good kick in the pants. Here is a link listing some P3 socket 370 processors.

    Open the Process tab in Task Manager. What are the numbers at the bottom labeled "Commit Charge"?

    Are you behind a router? If so, you probably have too much active security running in the background, and some of it may be conflicting. Even if you are not behind a router, it would be good to test for conflicts.

    As Paul suggested, why not try running without WinPatrol as a test to see if things speed up for you? Then reactivate WinPatrol and deactivate Threatfire to see what impact that might make.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,792
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 798 Times in 719 Posts
    Just as a test to besure you aren't autoloading something that is slowing you down, try running in a "Clean Boot" environment:
    http://www.freebits.co.uk/cleanboot.html
    If the PC runs noticably faster, you can selectivly re enable items until you identify the culprit. One thing that should speed things up a little is to go to
    Control Panel-System-Advanced tab-Performance settings button- Visual Effects tab and set the adjust for best performance radio button.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    You also might want to consider a good third party defrag utility that has the ability to defrag your system files and page file on boot up. I've used PerfectDisk since version 6, about 7 years ago. Does an excellent job and I've never had a problem or a complaint. The latest version is v.11.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Auslogics also has a very good disk defragmenter as well as a regitry defragmenter.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Disk defragmentation is not the answer and should only be considered after all other things have been fixed.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Clean install, then...

    Dump all those antivirus and antimalware tools and go with just the free Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and MSE.
    Dump the Comodo suit in faver of a firewall only and disable XP's firewall. Dump WinPatrol & Threat fire (security overkill).
    [Go with the Comodo standalone firewall and disable the XP firewall].
    Find a free partitioning tool, partition your drive to your liking, then uninstall the partitioning tool.
    Get your processes down to the 30s in the "services section". This is quite reasonable.
    Turn off system restore and remote computing, these are completely useless given your weak hardware specs.
    Have only mission critical software start with the os, reconfigure the rest for non os startup.
    Why 3 browsers? Pick one you like and dump the others...you don't have the luxury.

    Replacing a hard drive in a laptop is fairly easy if you have all the information on hand. Get the specs to your specific laptop,
    go over them and decide if it's worth it. You may even be able to replace RAM fairly easily as well.
    Your laptop is old and it probably would be easier and cheaper to replace it right now.
    Prices are fairly decent now on memory, hard drives, processors, and even laptops/notebooks. Replacing the processor may be way more work than you really want.





    Consider XPlite
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    thanks to everyone who offered me assistance. Just would like to say, im running a tower system, not a lappy. Ram is at it's max, no upgrade available. Replacing CPU good way to go, that is a definite look into. As for defraging i use "Defrageler, latest version"
    Doc Watson i agree with you,"Perfect Disk", have used in the passed, loved it.

    Trust me when i say all things will be tried. But and there always is a but, i am in the process of moving and will be atleast 2 weeks before i can check all out. thanks again people

    Alan G

  12. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    My mistake, I don't know where I got the idea that this was a laptop. Is this your MB?

    I still think that your choice of software is your biggest factor in sluggish performance since the CUSI-M
    is nearly maxed out. Even if you are able to upgrade the CPU it will still be inadequate with regard to your current software choices.

    Please provide more information on your current CPU; exact make/model, & clock frequency. I think you will max out at 1.2-1.4 GHz with an Intel Pentium III Coppermine socket 370, or something similar.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  13. #13
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,760
    Thanks
    26
    Thanked 424 Times in 338 Posts
    Chkdsk /r, Disk Cleanup, then defrag. My favorite is MyDefrag. It's free. I would also look into putting a permanent swap file on a small dedicated partition.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clint Rossmere View Post
    My mistake, I don't know where I got the idea that this was a laptop. Is this your MB?

    I still think that your choice of software is your biggest factor in sluggish performance since the CUSI-M
    is nearly maxed out. Even if you are able to upgrade the CPU it will still be inadequate with regard to your current software choices.

    Please provide more information on your current CPU; exact make/model, & clock frequency. I think you will max out at 1.2-1.4 GHz with an Intel Pentium III Coppermine socket 370, or something similar.


    Thanks Clint, you are right on the money, when you say it is at it's end CPU is Intel Celeron 370 766MHZ

    Now working on what you have told me with a newer speed CPU i will gain just a little more which that i have been told,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,also i will point out a new system is in the works, just waiting for $$$ to start..

    Once again thankyou everyone who has given me this information it will not be wasted.

    Alan G

  15. #15
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    6,684
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    Disk defragmentation is not the answer and should only be considered after all other things have been fixed.

    cheers, Paul
    Opinions vary. But, I always run all the other utilities before I do the defrag run. Doesn't make sense to waste time defragging files that will be removed, thus re-fragmenting the drive.

    As to the time issue, that's why humans sleep. So their computers can run all the maintenance programs. It's an evolutionary process.
    <IMG SRC=http://www.wopr.com/w3tuserpics/DocWatson_sig.gif>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •