Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Recently I brought my desktop to a computer shop and had a 2nd harddrive installed as a "home" for my data files.
    After a few days I noticed the system took more time to boot up in the morning.
    I checked my BCD with EasyBCD; and this is what I found:
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.

    Default: Microsoft Windows 7 - RY2
    Timeout: 10 seconds.
    Boot Drive: G:\

    Entry #1
    Name: Microsoft Windows 7 - RY2
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    My question is:
    How do I change the Boot Drive from G:\ to C:\

    I didn't see anything with EasyBCD that allows me to do that; and, if there is someway in
    the "advanced" section of EasyBCD of doing that, I didn't want to muck things up "trying something",
    until I asked here first.

    Thanks for any help,
    Dick

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Los Angeles, CA
    Posts
    828
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
    First, go into you BIOS and make sure that it is set to boot off of your C: drive, and not off of the G: drive. I suspect that whoever installed your second drive found that the system would not boot after the second drive was installed and thus ran the BCD recovery tool to place a BCD on the second drive; but if that was the case then changing the drive boot order in the BIOS should "fix" this.

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.

    Default: Microsoft Windows 7 - RY2
    Timeout: 10 seconds.
    Boot Drive: G:\

    Entry #1
    Name: Microsoft Windows 7 - RY2
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    My question is:
    How do I change the Boot Drive from G:\ to C:\



    Thanks for any help,
    Dick
    [/quote]
    Dick
    Hello. Could you clarify ... You say one entry in"Vista Bootloader" .. but BCD shows"Windows 7" ? Also do you only have one OS on your drive. or is it partitioned? Check in "disk manager" . If you only have one drive, i don't think that Windows will be able to change things around . As far as changing the drive letter, windows won't let you change it if it is your primary with boot info etc . on it. Windows always makes the booted "OS" C: and will automatically switch the other to what ever letter is available. There is a way to do this (i have done this) but requires a "imaging software" a bootable partition manager ( like EASEUS or Gparted) ... and a bootable recovery disk (like Acronis) to do this. (as far as i know ) Maybe someone has a better idea? Remember EasyBCD is a boot manager.... will only deal with what you have.... as far as disks. I have shown my OS and how it is structured,(for now) might be of some help. Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Thanks for the responses. A Google search led me to a response from the creator of EasyBCD. Talk about "easy."
    There's a category called "BCD Install - repair"; and a command /change boot drive.

    That took care of my problem.
    Dick

    PS,
    To Fred's question above: I have 2 drives now, and neither is partitoned. Also, as confusing as it looks, what I enclosed inside the >>>>>'s
    was copied right out of EasyBCD, and is (now, was) the contents of my BCD.

    Best,
    Dick Y

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    ************************************************** *****************
    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.
    Default: Windows 7 Ultimate (recovered)
    Timeout: 3 seconds.
    Boot Drive: C:\
    Entry #1
    Name: Windows 7 Ultimate (recovered)
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    ************************************************** ******************

    When I open EasyBCD I also get the Windows Vista bootloader just as Dick does, wierd.

    Dick,
    Does yours now show C:\ for both entries after the repair?

    Fred,

    As you can see you are not the only one who sometimes hoses your OS (Notice the word recovered on my OS!!!


    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Ted, Dick-Y,
    Can't figure why the "Vista Entry" either. My beta2 does not show this. However glad to hear it all worked out ! Sure beats doing the delete and re-install thing.Also Ted you can change the "recovered" and set it back to the way it was before... Just go to add / remove entries , delete the recovered one, and then "add an entry" and set it back the way it was. (name, drive letter ) make sure that you click save before you "X" out (didn't and learned the hard way) Regards Fred
    Attached Images Attached Images
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Thanks Fred. Changed to something a little more personal.

    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.
    Default: Ted Windows 7 Ultimate
    Timeout: 3 seconds.
    Boot Drive: C:\
    Entry #1
    Name: Ted Windows 7 Ultimate
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe

    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Fred:
    Here's what mine now shows in EasyBCD:
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.

    Default: Windows 7
    Timeout: 10 seconds.
    EasyBCD Boot Device: C:\

    Entry #1
    Name: Windows 7
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    After you make the change using EasyBCD, it tells you you also have to change the
    boot device (in my case, from G:\ to C:\

    As to why it shows Vista, one of my Google searches said that Softy uses the same bootloader as it did
    for Vista.

    Best,
    Dick Y

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dick-Y View Post
    Fred:
    Here's what mine now shows in EasyBCD:
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    There is one entry in the Windows Vista bootloader.

    Default: Windows 7
    Timeout: 10 seconds.
    EasyBCD Boot Device: C:\

    Entry #1
    Name: Windows 7
    BCD ID: {current}
    Drive: C:\
    Bootloader Path: \Windows\system32\winload.exe
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    After you make the change using EasyBCD, it tells you you also have to change the
    boot device (in my case, from G:\ to C:\

    As to why it shows Vista, one of my Google searches said that Softy uses the same bootloader as it did
    for Vista.

    Best,
    Dick Y
    Dick-Y
    Hello, and thanks for the clarification .I have only one more question that i was wondering about in your post ..... If you only have one "OS" why or how did you come to be using EasyBCD ? Was there another "OS" originally ? (dual boot) Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pittsford,NY
    Posts
    874
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 35 Times in 27 Posts
    Hello Fred:

    My "adventure" started after I decided to have a second drive installed for me (which wound up being called G:\ on my system.
    I'm not a hardware "techie", but my understanding after I started using my desktop again, was that this new drive was "hooked up" hardware-wise
    ahead of my C:\ drive.

    I started checking into things after I noticed a much longer boot-up time.

    I hope that clarifies where I was coming from, and why I was using EasyBCD.

    Best,
    Dick-Y

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •