Thread: "Ghost" disk?

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I have a disk drive listed on my Computer list as Local Disk (Q. This disk (or partition) doesn't appear to actually exist though. When I try to open the Disk to explore it, I get a message in a new window which is entitled, Location is not available. In the window itself is the text Q:\ is not accessible. Access is denied.

When I open the disk icon by right clicking, under properties the Disk shows as 0 bytes used and 0 bytes free.

I have tried to delete the partition via Disk Management but it is not listed at all. I have even tried a clean install of my OS (Windows 7) to get rid of the listing of Local Disk (Q, but it re-appears. I have no idea as to how to remedy this problem. In spite of apparently not using any bytes, I think it is causing background problems as sometimes my apps take longer than usual to open.

As an enthusiastic amateur, I am not afraid to delve into the Registry or to use CMD prompt. However, I would not do so without detailed instructions of which commands or which registry files to alter and how. Can anyone out there help?

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Most likely the Q: drive is an empty USB or flash-card port. You can prevent Explorer from displaying it by going to Tools | Folder Options and on the View tab checking the "Hide empty drives in Computer folder" option.

Thanks
    "Q" is a bit far along in the alphabetical order of letters, have you been making some changes recently; Installing drives, uninstalling drives?
    Do you have a "card reader", USB thumb drives, eSATA drives, or any RAM drives?
    How many "disk drives" do you have, how many CD/DVD drives do you have?
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build: