Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I currently run Norton Antivirus 2006 (with virus updates of course). I have heard good things about the Microsoft Security Essentials free package and want to switch. I am wondering exactly what I have to/should disable first. When I go to Add/Remove programs, I find two Norton entries:

    1. Norton Internet Security
    2. Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier



    I don't know if I should remove both of these or just one. I know I need to either disable (which I cannot figure out how to do) or uninstall the antivirus part of the program but I am wondering if I can continue to run the firewall. Suggestions?

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Ronny,

    I would uninstall both. You can download Revo Uninstaller Free Edition to help with the uninstall. This tool calls up the Windows Add/Remove programs and then searches for all traces of the program the uninstall routine leaves behind. This gives you a thorough uninstall, and should be of great benefit in removing Norton as it has a reputation for being difficult to completely remove.

    I would not leave the Norton firewall or any other component of the software to use. The firewall component was designed to work with other Norton routines as a cohesive unit. Norton is a tightly wound suite.

    In what version of Windows are these two Norton programs installed? If XP 32, Vista 32 bit, or Windows 7 32 bit, then there are several very good firewall products you can download for free. I have used the Comodo Firewall as well as Online Armor Firewall before. I prefer Online Armor but had to leave it behind because it does not offer a 64 bit edition. Comodo is very effective, but requires more patience for a while as it asks permission for outgoing communications until it learns what your preferences are. Also note the Comodo Firewall is bundled with Comodo Antivirus, and you have to be sure to install just the firewall component without the AV or it will conflict with MS Security Essentials. Comodo is designed to install one or the other, or both components. Comodo is compatible with both 32 and 64 bit Windows XP, Vista, and Windows 7. However, if you have Windows 7 in 32 or 64 bit editions, its built in firewall is all a home user really needs.

    You can find Online Armor here . You can find Comodo here .
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Norton SystemWorks contained some utilities that should not conflict with third party security software. I don't know whether you can use the uninstaller or original installer to keep just those utilities. I suppose if you don't use them, there's no harm removing them.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I too would suggest uninstalling both the Norton Internet Security and the Norton SystemWorks 2006 Premier prior to installing MSE.

    If there is a specific feature of Norton that you like and want to keep, I would install that specific feature set after MSE is up and running, if possible, and disable all others through it's advanced setup properties at the time of install.

    A known good and verifiable drive image backup under these circumstances would be ideal if problems do occur.
    ...And of course, if you should decide MSE is not to your liking, you will have your setup reverted back to it's pre Norton uninstalltion system environment.


    Symantec's software can present a challenge when it comes to effectively removing it's software. A good rule of thumb is to disable all possible running processes through the Norton suit interface first prior to uninstallation.
    There is also a specific uninstaller for Norton/Symantec products.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Once again Gerald has given an excellent, complete answer. My only addition would be that after uninstalling ALL Norton products using Revo Uninstaller, I would also utilize CCleaner to further clean leftovers out of the registry. CCleaner will also do a great job of cleaning up temp files, browser history, etc.

    It would be nice to know the OS Ronny is presently using. I suspect it is not Win 7 because the Norton product installed is pretty old (2006). I'm not even sure this would work with Win 7, so as I said I suspect Ronny is running XP. As such MSE would be a great choice for real time AV/AM protection and a good 3rd party app for firewall would be a good choice.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I appreciate the good advice. I am running XP. It's what they give us at work so I keep the same OS at home to simplify my life. (Plus, I work at a university with a site license that allows me to get a legal copy for $5.)

    I am behind a router/firewall so the Norton firewall may not be strictly necessary anyway. My major concern is that I run other Norton software (Norton Utilities and Ghost) so I've got to untangle the antivirus and firewall while keeping the other stuff.

    Again, thanks for the good advice.

    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronny View Post
    I appreciate the good advice. I am running XP. It's what they give us at work so I keep the same OS at home to simplify my life. (Plus, I work at a university with a site license that allows me to get a legal copy for $5.)

    I am behind a router/firewall so the Norton firewall may not be strictly necessary anyway. My major concern is that I run other Norton software (Norton Utilities and Ghost) so I've got to untangle the antivirus and firewall while keeping the other stuff.

    Again, thanks for the good advice.

    Ronny
    As Gerald stated, the Norton products are pretty heavily intertwined. It may be safer to uninstall the whole lot and go with an excellent 3rd party firewall. I believe he mentioned a couple possibilities. Don't rely solely on a hardware firewall. It is important to have a software firewall as well. The Windows XP firewall is inbound only, although for most home users it may be plenty.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronny View Post
    I am behind a router/firewall so the Norton firewall may not be strictly necessary anyway.
    Some past threads on that issue:

    [topic=407306]Software Firewall: Why use it, Where to get it[/topic]

    [topic=514830]Hardware/Software Firewalls[/topic]

  9. #9
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Peterborough, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,450
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Norton Removal Tool is available from this link or directly from Norton. I don't know to what extent it affects the programs you have, but historically Norton (or Symantec) products have been notorious for leaving parts behind upon removal that were impossible to get rid of. Norton was forced for the sake of its own reputation to provide an uninstaller to remove all of the loose ends left behind, and you should be aware of it.

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Encino CA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey all,

    If you want to remove Norton, here's a suggestion based on personal experience:

    Remove all of the Norton programs via the Windows Add and Remove Programs feature first. That way the windows firewall will be turned on and function properly. Restart the computer, then download the Norton Removal Tool and run it. This will clean any remaining registry entries. Restart the computer once again, then start installing the software you wish to use.

    If you install Norton Utilities, make sure you use the "custom" install so you do not install the antivirus if you plan to use MSE, otherwise you will have program conflicts. If a custom install is not available, do not use Norton Utilities. Most utilities suites do more harm than good anyway, so I usually don't recommend them.

    Hope this helps.

    Jeff

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronny View Post
    I appreciate the good advice. I am running XP. It's what they give us at work so I keep the same OS at home to simplify my life. (Plus, I work at a university with a site license that allows me to get a legal copy for $5.)

    I am behind a router/firewall so the Norton firewall may not be strictly necessary anyway. My major concern is that I run other Norton software (Norton Utilities and Ghost) so I've got to untangle the antivirus and firewall while keeping the other stuff.

    Again, thanks for the good advice.

    Ronny
    Ronny,
    Hello .... I would like to add my opinion as well ( albeit a contrary one) (as usual) I have and use Norton 360 v 3.8.0.41 on all my OS's (Not Linux) I have a VIsta Home Premium OS that i have run as an experiment with no patches or updates since last Oct. I call it my SP-0 The security that i use on this system is as follows .... Malwarebytes... and Norton 360 end of story! I have surfed the web as my usual routine with all the OS's on a rotating basis. I have never had a problem to this point with any of them (4 others) some of them have all updates and patches and SP-0 has none .... you decide !? how this is happening .. either i am the luckiest web surfer on the planet or Norton 360 \ Malwarebytes is a good "combo" for security. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I guess from my perspective the bottom line is to be proactive in your security scheme. Install a good highly rated AV app (there are many good AV apps and opinions vary widely on which is best) and keep it up to date on signatures. Have a good AM app (I choose MSE because it has both and runs quietly in the background). Have alternatives installed that you use periodically or in case of attack (Do not have 2 AV apps running in real time). Next in addition to having an AV and AM running in the background, a periodic scan (I do these weekly) of all the different security apps as each seem to work just enough differently that each may see problems others do not (I use MalwareBytes and Spybot Search and Destroy). Next watch where you surf and more importantly what you click when visiting web sites. If I'm surfing sites I'm unfamiliar with I use a virtual environment such as Sandboxie. All these steps are being proactive in your security scheme and go a long way to keeping the "nasties" at bay.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    568
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Ronny,
    Hello .... I would like to add my opinion as well ( albeit a contrary one) (as usual) I have and use Norton 360 v 3.8.0.41 on all my OS's (Not Linux) I have a VIsta Home Premium OS that i have run as an experiment with no patches or updates since last Oct. I call it my SP-0 The security that i use on this system is as follows .... Malwarebytes... and Norton 360 end of story! I have surfed the web as my usual routine with all the OS's on a rotating basis. I have never had a problem to this point with any of them (4 others) some of them have all updates and patches and SP-0 has none .... you decide !? how this is happening .. either i am the luckiest web surfer on the planet or Norton 360 \ Malwarebytes is a good "combo" for security. Regards Fred
    My first computer was a Sinclair ZX-81 I had to put together myself so I've been using computers for a very long time. I have never had a virus infection or any other type of malware. I am behind a router/firewall and that prevents a lot of stuff. With that alone, Shields Up gives me a perfect score. Being behind a router, I'm convinced that common sense and staying off porn sites will protect you against most of what the router can't protect against. I use antivirus just in case and because a couple of family members with less computer experience also use the computer and I can't watch what they do.


    Ronny
    Ronny Richardson

  14. #14
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ronny View Post
    . I am behind a router/firewall and that prevents a lot of stuff. With that alone, Shields Up gives me a perfect score. Being behind a router, I'm convinced that common sense and staying off porn sites will protect you against most of what the router can't protect against. I use antivirus just in case and because a couple of family members with less computer experience also use the computer and I can't watch what they do.


    Ronny
    Ronny,
    Couldn't have said it any better ! Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •