Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    For some reason, Office and other programs on my Dell with Windows 7, will not
    let me select a menu item. When I click on the menu in WORD, it drops down
    for about 1/2 second and then goes back up. As you can tell, its pretty hard
    to select anything from the menu.

    I have not added or deleted anything to the system. The only thing I can think
    of is we had a bad storm last night and the power went off once or twice.

    In Firefox, I could not enter my password before the curser jumped back to the start.

    In long menus, the scroll bars keep jumping back to the top of the bar.

    Please Help.

    Thanks,

    Ben

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Try a system restore to a point before the storm if you have one.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If the system restore does not work, perhaps a system repair from within Windows would restore your system files. Control Panel, Backup and Restore, Recover system settings or your computer. After selecting this option your PC will reboot and work toward restoring your critical system files.

    On a side note, this points out the need to shut down your desktop PC's during an electrical storm where the power may go out, if this is indeed what caused the failure, which does seem likely. You may be lucky a lightning strike did not fry your PC, as this has happenedd. All electrical appliances are subjected to stresses during these stormss.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The last know good boot up does the same thing. Do you happen to know where in the registry I can control the speed of the menu drop down?

    Also, when I'm in Firefox or Internet Explorer and go to a site the asks for username and password, I can type in the username,
    but I am not fast enough to type in my password before the cursor resets to the left and the *** are highlited. This is a real bummer.

    Ben

  5. #5
    WS Lounge VIP Browni's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Rochdale, UK
    Posts
    1,653
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 161 Times in 139 Posts
    Have you tried a different keyboard/mouse?

    This does sound like something has stuck!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    Change or modify menu delay in Windows 7...
    Windows 7 - Menu Show Delay Time (Windows Seven Forums)
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Fixed. It seems the problem started when I updated from Power Pro 7 to Power Pro 8.

    I tried to install Power Pro 8. It uninstalled Power Pro 7 but would go no further. When I shut down the
    computer and then rebooted, Power Pro 7 was gone and that is when the menu problem started. I
    just installed Power Pro 8, rebooted, and now everything runs smoothly. I have no idea why this
    happened.

    Thanks for everyone's suggestions.

    Ben

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    OKC, Oklahoma
    Posts
    21
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Seems like I left out some important information. The software is Power Desk Pro from Avanquest,
    an alternative to Windows Explorer.

    Ben

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •