Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Bolivia
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Somewhere along the line several of my computers have decided that by default everything you open, even if the shortcut is set to "normal" is opened in a full window.

    So click an Excel file or word file, they open in the full 22" screen.

    This is in both Vista and XP. How can I set those defaults back to a normal size?

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If a program is shut down properly, they will normally open up at the same size they were closed at.

    How are these programs be closed?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    That would be my suggestion as well, if you set the size you want the program window to be before a normal close, it should open again at the size it was closed normally at. One thing that can affect this and cause it not to work correctly is if the comptuer goes into sleep or hybernation someimes the video goes through a resolution change. In fact any resolution change in general or abnormal shut down can affect the last default size.

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Bolivia
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks. I will have to investigate that, but hard to believe people are opening that big intentionally and then switching through windows.
    I think I'll try autosizer

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    What is this "autosizer" that you have posed about a couple of times?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Santa Cruz, Bolivia
    Posts
    27
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Google it and download. You can install it and tell it what size and what part of the screen to open programs. It then remembers where and how you want your desktop organized. Very helpful in some things, like crystal reports that takes the whole monitor to show you a report even if it is only 3 columns.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    If you are running this autosizer on all of these machines, then it (the autosizer) may have set all of the screen to be in this manner.
    You might try uninstalling this "autosizer" program and see if the problem goes away.

    By the way , it helps to provide a link to these programs that one is using, as there are several out there and then we know which one you are using.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •