Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Resources and

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Loungers, how accurate is this?
    [attachment=88920:WSL.JPG]
    I know that MSE is installed and working correctly. On the assumption the tool is accurate, how do I fix the first item reported?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Hi Roderunner,

    Check the Event Viewer logs, Application log to see if the MSE service termination is flagged, the time it occurred, and the time it restarted. This may not be a big deal if we are looking at a very brief interval here. See what error code was generated and do an online search to try to pinpoint the causes and solution(s) for the error.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Gerald, I have had a really nice 4 hours searching as your suggested starting point, but found nothing of any true value. Thanks You.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Have you seen any indication in the Logs that this error has occurred on many occasions or just once or twice?
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Gerald, event log shows 2 enrtys. ID's 2001 and 3002 which is about updates but nothing else. Action Centre and Reliability Monitor shows nothing.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    I don't think I would be too concerned about this, but maybe another Lounger will have a different take on the matter. If anything, I might would uninstall MSE and reinstall it just to see if there is a repeat performance in the Resource and Permformance Monitor.

    When I have had services stop and restart, I have found information to that effect in the Event Logs. The lack of errors recorded in your logs leads me to think of reinstallation of MSE and further observation.

    You probably have already done so, but if not, scan your computer with MalwareBytes Anti-malware and Super AntiSpyware just as a precaution. We know some nasties can stop an antivirus app from running.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Gerald, as my pc is running after a clean install about 7 days ago I dont think any 'nasties' could be on it. But it's better to be sure than sorry. My rule of thumb is to run a quick scan with SAS portable bi weekly, usually only finding a tracking cookie or 2.
    When I install progs, I r/c > properties unblock if available, r/c > run as admin.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    I'm getting same plus other errors on Laptop running Vista Home Premium.

    [attachment=88987:WSL.JPG]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •