Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    I'm scratching my head over this.

    I designed a form in Access with "flat" (text) fields. The default property is "sunken" and I wanted to spruce it up a bit. On every computer I run this on, they look just the way I designed them. But when I test this on a client's workstation (WinXP) they appear sunken.

    To add to my confusion, while trying to determine what the heck's going on, I noticed in properties that my fields still say "sunken" even though they appear flat. In fact, I can't make them look sunken anymore.

    Is there a setting in Access (or Windows XP) that affects the default display of something like this? That would disregard my design and display sunken fields? Or disregard the property "sunken" and display flat? Is there some kind of cache I can clear? Any thoughts?

    Thanks!
    Kim

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    There is a database specific option: "Use Windows Themed Controls on Forms" that might explain what is happening.

    In 2003 it is under Tools...Options..Forms/Reports, while in 2007 it is in Access Options...Current Database.
    Regards
    John



  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    Tony, you were absolutely right. I unchecked it and my forms displayed as sunken. Rechecked it and they appeared flat.

    Does this pertain to the program, or the current database? Since another workstation seems to be able to override it when running my database, it points to this being a program option, yes?

    **********Addition after poking around***********
    Two things: the checkbox in Access does seem to be checked by default. My client looked in her program and it was checked. But her Windows theme seems to be a modified "Windows Classic" theme. When I switched her to Windows XP, the fields displayed flat. However...
    **********

    What ruffles my feathers is that I remember changing all the fields to flat, not checking this option.

    **********
    But I freely admit it's still possible that I'm not remembering correctly. I'll give editing the fields another try and see.
    Thanks again for pointing me to the right solution.
    *********

    Thank you!
    Kim

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kmurdock View Post
    Does this pertain to the program, or the current database? Since another workstation seems to be able to override it when running my database, it points to this being a program option, yes?
    It pertains to the database. (In 2007 it is in the Current Database group of options)

    So on my computer, I have lots of databases. For most of them I have this unticked, but for a few it is ticked.

    So when you move a database to another computer, it should retain whatever setting you gave it. Does each workstation have its own copy of the frontend?

    Perhaps the difference is the windows theme on the various computers.

    My recollection is that the default value is checked.
    Regards
    John



  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    John, yes, each computer has its own copy of the front end.

    And yes, this option seems to be checked by default there. But I believe when they imaged the computers, they applied the "Windows Classic" theme which displays those fields as sunken.

    It's good news to know it's database-specific. I've learned something new and I thank you.

    Best, Kim

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    371
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Kim,

    This post got me wondering so I did a little googling...

    You can set this from VBA:
    Code:
    Application.SetOption "Themed Form Controls", False
    See article here: Set Access Options w/VBA

    RG
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger kmurdock's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Pacific Grove, California, USA
    Posts
    716
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 34 Times in 28 Posts
    RG --

    It makes sense that those options would be accessible with VBA. Thanks!

    K

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •