Star Lounger
    Thanks

Insufficient Memory

Sparky, Leif, and Eileen helped with a hardware qestion, now this. Again, a new Win2000 pc, OfficeXP, 1.2AMD, 256MB ram. While trying to save files to a floppy disk, my daughter got, among other errors, I guess: "You have insufficient memory to perform this operation", or something to that effect. She had already closed out/shutdown, and just called to rant. Her cursor exhibited some erratic behavior, too...basically Word no longer worked. A couple years back, I got the same/same type of message on my Win98SE machine (256 ram). I think I was trying to just format a floppy. I took care of it with a Config.sys tweak I stumbled across in a Fred Langa newsletter. I have been a W2K student for maybe two weeks, so at this point I can spell Win2K, but that is about it!
    Thanks,
    David Carter
    David Carter

4 Star Lounger
    Thanks

Re: Insufficient Memory

256Mb RAM should be plenty, but there are things that can eat up memory for no good reason. Too many shortcuts on the desktop; using the Office taskbar; programs in the system tray. There are things like Realplayer that take a little dissuading from appearing in the system tray - and a basic version comes with 2000. It runs in the background for no apparent reason. CTRL+ALT+DEL>Task Manager will give you an idea of what is running.

The open applications shouldn.t be a problem, but the list of processes may come as a shock (it does on my system!). You also get a view of how your system resources are being used. You can shut down unnecessary programs from here, but I haven't worked out the equivalent of msconfig for 2000 to stop things loading at startup.
    We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

Star Lounger
    Thanks