Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Blaine, Minnesota, USA
    Posts
    19
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I use 2010 at work. I have a "Global" list of addresses off the company network, and then my own "contacts".

    With 2003, I was able to get addresses from my "contacts" to autocomplete, as well as the "Global" list of addresses.

    With 2010, the "Global" list still works, but my "contacts" can't be found.

    Ideas?

    Dave

  2. #2
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Your autocomplete *.nk2 file was probably lost when you were upgraded to 2010 - usually it gets rebuit for scratch. How long is it since your were upgraded?
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    In Outlook 2010 the .nk2 file is no longer used. When you upgrade it is imported into a hidden message in your pst file.

    Joe

    Joe

  4. #4
    Uranium Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    9,508
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    In Outlook 2010 the .nk2 file is no longer used. When you upgrade it is imported into a hidden message in your pst file.
    Thanks, Joe, did not know that. If the OP Dave's machine was ghosted to Office 2010 in a corporate environment, is it likely then that his autocomplete NK2 file contents would not have been imported, and will need to be rebuilt?
    -John ... I float in liquid gardens
    UTC -7ąDS

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Most likely. If he still could get an old copy of the nk2 file I wonder if Outlook would still import it or if that is only a "first use" thing. I'll try to find out a little more.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Miami, FL USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Most likely. If he still could get an old copy of the nk2 file I wonder if Outlook would still import it or if that is only a "first use" thing. I'll try to find out a little more.

    Joe
    There is a great workaround posted on Microsoft's website for dealing this situation. How to import .nk2 files into Outlook 2010

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,577
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jeff Feinberg View Post
    There is a great workaround posted on Microsoft's website for dealing this situation. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/980542
    Nice!! Thanks.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •