5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I recently got a new computer with Win7 and am stuck without a good backup software. For several years now, I ran WinXP with Norton Ghost 9 and it was great. I could periodically backup a complete image that could (and on one occasion was) be used to completely re-image the drive while still being used to recover individual files. I think it was the best backup program I ever had and I've been doing this for nearly 30 years.

When I decided to move to Win7, I got an updated version of Ghost and found out that the software gremlins (aka engineers) had been busy and decided that what I needed was something that was almost completely but not entirely unlike Ghost 9. When and why this happened, I don't know, but I uninstalled it faster than I installed it and tossed into the trash. Now I'm stuck.

I WANT MY NORTON GHOST 9 BACK!!! <sorry>

Does anyone know of a program that will do the same? I don't do automatic backups. I don't do incremental backups. I want to periodically backup the drive just the same way I did with Ghost 9 so that I can either recover individual files or the whole image.

FWIW, my computer is a Dell and came with the Dell Backup and Recovery Manager, but it looks to be about the same as the new version of Ghost.

PS, I'm not a Luddite, I'm just used to doing things a particular way because they work very well for me and have for many years.
    Graham Smith
    DataSmith, Delaware
    "For every expert there is an equal and opposite expert.", Arthur C. Clarke (1917 - 2008)

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Joe

Thanks
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,