Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yet another FF 3.6x issue. My internet provider is Comcast and I use their email system Smartzone (in advanced mode). The problem is that the top window, which has the listing of emails will not scroll using the the scrolling arrows on the right side of the window, but the bottom window with the message preview will scroll using the scroll arrows (see attached picture of the screen- top pane will not scroll- bottom pane will).

    When I open the message to full size, the scroll arrows do work as well.

    So, does anyone have an insight into why this would be the case and what setting could be changed to allow the correct operation; both scroll bars worked in FF 3.5x.

    Thanks
    steve rose
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Click on one of you emails then try scrolling.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Click on one of you emails then try scrolling.
    Thanks but that still does not allow scrolling in the upper window.

    steve

  4. #4
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Rose View Post
    My internet provider is Comcast and I use their email system Smartzone (in advanced mode). The problem is that the top window, which has the listing of emails will not scroll using the the scrolling arrows on the right side of the window, but the bottom window with the message preview will scroll using the scroll arrows (see attached picture of the screen- top pane will not scroll- bottom pane will).
    Just to be clear: the triangles at the top and bottom of the scroll bar for the message list do not do anything, but you can move the "thumb" to scroll the list? When you click the triangles, do they light up in the expected manner but just not operate, or are clicks just ignored? If you right-click the arrows, do you get any plug-in related menu (Java or Flash)? If you have zoomed the display, does returning to default sizing make any difference?

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Just to be clear: the triangles at the top and bottom of the scroll bar for the message list do not do anything, but you can move the "thumb" to scroll the list? When you click the triangles, do they light up in the expected manner but just not operate, or are clicks just ignored? If you right-click the arrows, do you get any plug-in related menu (Java or Flash)? If you have zoomed the display, does returning to default sizing make any difference?
    Thanks for the suggestions- I am referring to the triangles at the top and bottom of the scroll bar and they do not do anything but I can move the "thumb" to scroll. The triangles do light up but nothing happens, even right clicks do nothing- no submenu either. My screen is at default size so that is not an issue either.

    Best
    steve

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Hmmm, hopefully someone who uses Comcast can test this. I don't suppose they have their own support forums...

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jscher2000 View Post
    Hmmm, hopefully someone who uses Comcast can test this. I don't suppose they have their own support forums...
    Thanks- there are Comcast support forums but no one can find an answer and Comcast Tech Sppt. is not responsive to this query- they say use IE.

    Best
    Steve

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Rose View Post
    Thanks- there are Comcast support forums but no one can find an answer and Comcast Tech Sppt. is not responsive to this query- they say use IE.

    Best
    Steve
    I just found out on the Comcast Forums that the company is aware of this and the next version of SmartZone (the email system) will fix this for Firefox. Oh well, until then it is IE8.

    steve

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Rose View Post
    I just found out on the Comcast Forums that the company is aware of this and the next version of SmartZone (the email system) will fix this for Firefox. Oh well, until then it is IE8.

    steve
    OK- the new version of FF (3.6.4) has fixed this scrolling issue.

    steve

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •