Star Lounger
    Thanks
    This should be a super simple problem with a super simple answer, but it can get complicated.

I am using an XP machine right now with 768 kb DSL.
    Computer works fine.
    I am an experienced newbie and computers are NOT my generation.
    I installed XP on a test machine that I redid and disconnected the ethernet cable on this machine and hooked it up to the test machine.
    RESULT = LIMITED OR NO CONNECTIVITY to the internet

This is my WEAKEST area of knowledge.
    I poked around and found as I have on another machine with the same problem >>>>>>>>>>>>>>
    IP = 169.254.164.172
    Subnet mask = 255.255.0.0
    Gateway = BLANK = nothing there
    NO other items listed

I tried REPAIR and did not work.
    I found that this puter is set to AUTOMATICALLY obtain an IP ADDRESS and DNS SERVER info.
    I tried other troubleshooting buttons to solve this problem but things get too complicated and I canceled.
    I even shut down the computer and rebooted and same problem.

I am NOT on any network.
    All I want to do is to use my current comptuer right now to post this and THEN when I need to get AV and updates other programs on this TEST computer to unhook the ethernet cable from this unit and hook it up to the TEST computer for use and then back to this one. I have to walk before I can run.

Any info would be appreciated.

Are there any kind of TUTORIALS on this kind of thing ???????????????
    I have books which are of NO help to this new puter setup problem which I've not solved on other computers.

Thanks in advance.

Thanks
    1 Make sure you have the right LAN drivers for your os and hardware.
    2 Try to press the reset button on the DLS modem. You may need a pen for the reset switch.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build: