Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Milton Keynes Bucks UK
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been using Gadwin Print Screen with XP and Windows 7, since it was released, and I've had no problems.

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peter Rogers View Post
    I have been using Gadwin Print Screen with XP and Windows 7, since it was released, and I've had no problems.
    Peter ,
    Hello,
    Could you provide some "details" about the "Gadwin Print Screen" program ? Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    I see Peter Rogers has not yet replied, Fred. I suggest you go to the following site to get the info you want:
    http://www.gadwin.com/printscreen/

    I also use the program and find it very useful and easy to use. (Free, too!!) (By the way, it does work with Windows 7).
    Cheers.
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, California, USA
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Gadwin is very good and when you set it for rectangle capture it works even better. My better half uses it to capture old pictures and old maps, which are hard to find for genealogy projects. People are happy to get pictures and maps of towns, houses and castles where their ancestors once lived. Some old pictures and maps are not available except on line. Also useful for capturing pieces of an article instead of the whole 17 pages of it.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Peter, Greg,
    Hello, and thank you both for your replies . I know that this subject (screen printers ) has been "kicked around" a lot on this forum, but the more information the better (i think ?) As OS's are updated and always seem to be changing. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of Texas
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Peter ,
    Hello,
    Could you provide some "details" about the "Gadwin Print Screen" program ? Regards Fred
    Gadwin PS is a very versatile app for saving images.

    It allows full screen, open widow, viewing area, and user defined area, selections for capture. It provides for resizing and extension selection for saving.

    I have been using it for a few years now and am quite pleased with it.

    JD

    All Those Who Wander
    Are Not ALWAYS Lost ...

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Johnathan Doah View Post
    Gadwin PS is a very versatile app for saving images.
    It allows full screen, open widow, viewing area, and user defined area, selections for capture. It provides for resizing and extension selection for saving.
    I have been using it for a few years now and am quite pleased with it.
    Johnathan,
    Thanks for the information ! Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Hi all. Similarly by the sounds of it, I use Jing to capture all my images I post on the Lounge. Jing is free as well and does also work well with Win 7. Ted
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have just recently become aware of the IrfanView http://www.irfanview.net/ capture capability. (I am using 4.00 currently) on my XP computers, work and home.

    I used to use Gadwin, but find IrfanView works much more simply for quick and dirty screen captures, and I already use it for minor graphic adjustments, and it does not need to be installed.


    Just go to Options and select Capture/Screenshot:


    [attachment=89255:IrfanViewOptions.jpg]


    Set up your preferences in the Capture Setup dialog:

    [attachment=89256:IrfanViewCaptureSetup.jpg]


    Click Start, and you are good to go.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Steve Costello
    Computer user groups keep users informed, join one and become an active participant.
    http://www.sefcug.jux.com/index.html

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Costello View Post
    I have just recently become aware of the IrfanView http://www.irfanview.net/ capture capability. (I am using 4.00 currently) on my XP computers, work and home.
    Steve - Great tip !!! I have been using Irfan for many years. Never knew about Irfan's screen capture.

    Thanks

  11. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Darlington, Durham, England
    Posts
    711
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    ........nobody mentioned FastStone Capture... another free download and easy to use...even scrolls to capture lengthy pages.... use it continually. SF
    Dave
    <img src=/w3timages/redline.gif width=33% height=2>
    True happiness is not what you have to live WITH but what you have to live FOR. ASSBG

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •