Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LAKE COUNTRY,BC. CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Good Day:
    I recently purchased a DELL Inspiron 560 which came with Windows7. It also has MS Windows Essentals [Firewall, Malaware and Anti-V ]
    How can I find the Manufacturer(s) of these? The names are not stated on my Programs list.
    EdmundoW

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger Duchess843's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Sicklerville, NJ
    Posts
    2,488
    Thanks
    36
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ed H.Cull View Post
    Good Day:
    I recently purchased a DELL Inspiron 560 which came with Windows7. It also has MS Windows Essentals [Firewall, Malaware and Anti-V ]
    How can I find the Manufacturer(s) of these? The names are not stated on my Programs list.
    EdmundoW
    Go here: http://www.microsoft...ity_essentials/

    I have the Dell Inspiron 400, hope you enjoy yours as much as I do mine.

    Gloria
    <img src=/S/coffeetime.gif border=0 alt=coffeetime width=32 height=48>

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    As Gloria shows, it appears that you have Microsoft Security Essentials (MSE) installed, which is an excellent AV and AM app. The name you mention is not exactly correct but I believe you are referring to MSE. However. MSE does not include the firewall, that is resident in Windows 7, not in MSE. By the way in case you have not figured it out, MS is Microsoft who is the manufacturer of the app you mention as well as the Win 7 OS you are using, both excellent choices..
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    New Lounger Corrine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    It is also possible that Dell installed Windows Live Essentials (http://explore.live.com/windows-live-essentials -- Mail, Messenger, etc.).

    If you do not know the names of the security software programs installed, you can check the Security Center. Choose Start→Control Panel→Action Center→Security.


    Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!
    Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted. ~ ~ ~ May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    LAKE COUNTRY,BC. CANADA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Attn: Ted Myers. Corrine....
    Thanks for replies. Sorry TED. Yes, I DID mean Microsoft Security Essentials. The other points mentioned I am aware of. The thing I was attempting to establish was the manufacturer of the Anti-V program as, on my original invoice from DELL, it was listed as " McAfee Security Center with anti-virus,anti-spyware firewall 30-days." it,s a little confusing as there is no mention of McAfee in any other MS or Windows references. Only to MSE (which, as you state, is under Windows7 )
    I have had the new PC since early May and have no complaints to date so perhaps i should not bother. But I'm just a curious guy !!
    Ed H.Cull

  6. #6
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    McAfee Security Center may have been offered as a trial product, in which case you will have to
    pay in order to continue using it. if it is installed on your system it will be located in the control panels'
    "Programs" section. If it is not present it may be on a separate CD/DVD disk that came with your computer.

    It is also possible that Dell has made a switch to MSE somewhere between the time when you purchased your computer and recieved it.

    At any rate, look over your computer accessories to see if an actual disk with McAfee is in there somewhere. If you really want to push the issue, you might consider calling Dell to learn what hapened to the McAfee that is printed on the invoice.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  7. #7
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    If you can find an uninstall section for McAfee Security Center I would use it to uninstall the McAfee 30 day trial S/W as you are using MSE for your AV/AM needs, which I consider the better choice anyway. Go to Control Panel/Programs and Features to see if McAfee is listed there. If so, uninstall it, or better yet, use Revo Uninstaller or Absolute Uninstaller to uninstall the McAfee trial ware. Both of these uninstallers have received rave reviews. The free Revo product only works for 32 Bit apps whereas the free Asolute product works with 32 Bit and 64 Bit apps. I use both and can atest to both being excellent products.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  8. #8
    New Lounger Corrine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Upstate, NY
    Posts
    18
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    @Ted - McAfee offers a removal tool which I understand removes any leftover bits: http://service.mcafee.com/FAQDocument.aspx?id=TS100507 . Although Revo Uninstaller has a good reputation, I've heard of two people lately who have had a problem with it causing problems. One person is a Microsoft Consumer MVP who said that Revo messed up two computers she was working on.


    Take a walk through the "Security Garden" -- Where Everything is Coming up Roses!
    Remember - A day without laughter is a day wasted. ~ ~ ~ May the wind sing to you and the sun rise in your heart.

  9. #9
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Corrine View Post
    @Ted - McAfee offers a removal tool which I understand removes any leftover bits: http://service.mcafe...spx?id=TS100507 . Although Revo Uninstaller has a good reputation, I've heard of two people lately who have had a problem with it causing problems. One person is a Microsoft Consumer MVP who said that Revo messed up two computers she was working on.

    Did these 2 PCs come to her messed up? If so I would just as easily believe the owners of these 2 PCs had something else happening that may have been the culprit, although anything is possible. As with any app, I'm sure Revo is not infallible. I have also been checking Absolute Uninstaller as the free version works on 64 Bit as well. I have both on my PC, but since I have had great success with Revo I use it for most of my needs. I do use it a lot since I am constantly trying different apps as I read about them. That's part of the fun of having our personal PCs, at least for me.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  10. #10
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    A Texas State of Mind
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    a very handy free tool that will tell you exactly what is on your pc is Belarc advisor, I always do a belarc on a new pc and keep a print out of it should I need to have that info available and handy.
    http://belarc.com/free_download.html
    registered Linux user:476595

  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger HeyJude's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Ohio, USA
    Posts
    332
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by R-C View Post
    a very handy free tool that will tell you exactly what is on your pc is Belarc advisor, I always do a belarc on a new pc and keep a print out of it should I need to have that info available and handy.
    http://belarc.com/free_download.html
    Belarc is great and I highly recommend it as well I run it every once-in-a-while; not just when the pc is new
    Take a sad song and make it better

  12. #12
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hey Jude View Post
    Belarc is great and I highly recommend it as well I run it every once-in-a-while; not just when the pc is new
    Another good tool is 'Sofware Inspector for Windows' portable or .exe http://www.gtopala.com/
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •