Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Text Boxes (2000)

    Can you insert text boxes automatically without a border. I used to do this in WP (many years ago) - you could set a preference. <img src=/S/grovel.gif border=0 alt=grovel width=31 height=23>

  2. #2
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    Hi sopac,

    Yes this can easily be done using the "Set AutoShape Defaults" command. You'll find this on the shortcut menu for the text box. This default is document specific, so if you want this to be the default for all new documents based on Normal.dot.

    Open Normal.dot and make the modifications:
    - Just create a text box
    - Make your formatting changes
    - Right-click the text box and select "Set AutoShape Defaults"
    - Delete the text box
    - Save and close Normal.dot

    As previously noted this will work for all new documents based on Normal.dot. For existing documents you'll need to set the default for each document.
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers! <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15> You are a bottler ..... thanks heaps. I'm now <img src=/S/groovin.gif border=0 alt=groovin width=21 height=21> I'll pass this on to my daughter who is a Software trainer in the UK - she'll be chuffed.

  4. #4
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    416
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    I was just browsing through the posts, and my curiosity has gotten the better of me. I understand the fact that you are grateful that BAM answered your question, but what is a "bottler" and what does "chuffed" mean? I hope it has to do with the continental differences (I'm from <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>), and not that I'm just that clueless. <img src=/S/blush.gif border=0 alt=blush width=15 height=15>

    Becky

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Cheltenham, Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    99
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    There's an important caveat to note concerning this method which, by the way, is probably the only way to do it.

    The problem lies in the method used to remove the text box's border. You are setting the border line's color to "No color". That's fine as far as the text box is concerned. But after making that the default, when you draw something else--such as a line or an arrow--it too will be invisible (and a bit confusing to work with) because its line color also defaults to "no color".

    You'll find that you can carefully select the "invisible" line or arrow and use the right-click menu to access and change its line color property.

  6. #6
    Platinum Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Queanbeyan, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    3,730
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    Bottler- very special person <A target="_blank" HREF=http://az.essortment.com/australianslang_rtdz.htm>http://az.essortment.com/australianslang_rtdz.htm</A>
    Chuffed- very happy <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.australianaustralia.com/slang.html>http://www.australianaustralia.com/slang.html</A>
    Subway Belconnen- home of the Signboard to make you smile. Get (almost) daily updates- follow SubwayBelconnen on Twitter.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    8
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    Thanks Larry ... I haven't tried anything but text boxes since getting the good oil - but I would have been rather perplexed and you've saved me some angst. You're a bottler too!

  8. #8
    BAM
    Guest

    Re: Text Boxes (2000)

    Hi Larry,

    You raised a very good point, setting the default for an AutoShape applies to all AutoShapes. <img src=/S/frown.gif border=0 alt=frown width=15 height=15>

    Aside from using a macro method, the only other thing I can think of is to create an AutoText entry for the formatted text box and use AutoText to insert it.

    The main drawbacks to this are, the text box may be difficult to find once it's inserted and initially it is always the same size.

    Also note that to recall the AutoText entry one might need to type the full name and press <F3> to insert it.

    Another method would be to tear off the Line color palette so the change to the line on the text box easier.

    For those not familiar with tear off menus/toolbars:
    - Click the Line Color command on the Drawing toolbar
    - Place your mouse on the Grey bar at the top
    - When the bar turns blue, drag to the location of your choice

    Many of the drop down commands on the toolbars (and the AutoText menu) have this capability. <img src=/S/smile.gif border=0 alt=smile width=15 height=15>
    ~~~~~~~~~~~
    Cheers! <img src=/S/flags/USA.gif border=0 alt=USA width=30 height=18>

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •