Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I worked with HP for three weeks trying to upgrade three xw4400 workstations to Windows XP Pro x64. They have given up, apparently there has always been a problem with their x64 media for this workstation, see:
    http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport...ctID=c00765159

    I had ordered the x64 media from them and it gave me repeatedly errors, so they sent me a new media kit that worked fine except when it finished it was x32. They sent me a third media kit and it gave me the same errors:
    When I try to start the install with the HP Restore Plus! I get an error:
    .
    An unexpected error has occurred and the Restore Plus! Process is unable to continue. The Restore Plus! Process must be restarted. Reboot, I did this twice to no avail.


    I have wasted a month on this so far. In the past I have converted several xw4600s and one xw9400 using their media kit with no problem. So I purchased a builders XP pro x64 OEM package from the local computer store and after making a SATA floppy was able to get one computer upgraded to x64, the store only had one copy and is unable to get anymore.
    I had to roll one of the xw4400s out as a x32 so only have one more to upgrade. If anyone knows the trick to get the HP x64 media kit for the xw4400 to work, fire away.

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    XP Pro x64

    I know exactly how to get it to work, place the kit directly in the little round filing recepticle next to the desk and use something else. I feel for you if this is a requirement of some business or government adminstration department. How to make life simple in 4,632 easy steps.

  3. #3
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks Byron,
    for enlightening my day

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    You obviously have some very powerful reason to go to XP 64bit judging from all the time and effort you have expended. It is however the "lost and abandoned" OS if there ever was one and I am afraid you are going to get very little help as so few are running it.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Peter Jam,

    My son's entire graduating class of 2006 was given a load of MS software including Office 2003 Professional, Windows XP Pro x86, and Windows XP Pro 64 bit. He gave it all to me because he had no use for it. I used the XP Pro x64 install disk as a light paperweight until 2009 when I replaced Windows Vista Basic on a $299 Acer laptop (Athlon 64 single core processor), just for the heck of it, and it runs great without any problems.

    I had no difficulty in obtaining stable drivers for all the hardware, but if I remember correctly, I had to switch the SATA setting from AHCI to ATA in the BIOS in order to install XP Pro.

    I had to do the same thing to a Dell i1318 laptop when I replaced Vista Home Premium with XP Pro x86.

    Maybe there is a similar issue involved in the HP workstations since they use SATA.

    Also, if that helps and HP has terrible x64 drivers for the hardware components, perhaps you can identify the brand of each of the hardware components, and can download x64 XP drivers from the hardware manufacturer's support site.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  6. #6
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mercyh,
    Win 7 would help, but alas our corporation only allows XP pro at this time. Our draftsmen and Engineers use solidworks 2010 SP 2.1 for drawings and the assemblies are now in the 100's so 32 bit just doesn't cut it anymore. I first tried W7 on the xw9400 as a test but caught a lot of gas from directors and VPs up the line.
    I have converted several xw4600's and one xw9400 with no problem and they run the big drawings without a problem.

    Gerald,
    The only option I had in Bios other that AHCI and RAID+AHCI was "Separate IDE Controller and Combined IDE Controller".
    Separate IDE Controller gave me the same error as AHCI and Combined IDE Controller gave me a disk not found error.

    So if you want to sell your paper weight send me an e-mail.

    I am going to the local store later in the week and Purchase a Windows 7 x64 OEM downgradable to XP Pro x64 and try that.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If I understand the licensing correctly, you can downgrade Win7 pro to XP legally. You will need to already own the XP media. You will also not get a key to install XP 64 bit but Microsoft has posted a key on technet for this very purpose... (I can hardly believe they did this as it will unlock any XP OEM install as near as I can tell).

    (With the experience I believe you have, you should be familiar with technet and be able to find the article. If not come back and I can give you a link) I don't really want to post it here as I think the abuse potential is huge.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    mercyh,
    No, what I was saying is that the W7 media that is downgradeable at the local repair shop has both W7 64 bit and XP pro 64 bit media and keys. So I need to purchase that media kit from them.

    I don't have W7 yet, sorry for the confusion

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    And what I am saying is that I think that "Any" Win7 pro or ultimate license gives you the right run the XP downgrade. You obviously already have the media as you have installed before so you may not need to purchase the downgrade package you are talking about if you would prefer to purchase another win7 option.

  10. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    So I purchased a builders XP pro x64 OEM package from the local computer store and after making a SATA floppy was able to get one computer upgraded to x64, the store only had one copy and is unable to get anymore.
    If you already have the license for this workstation, is there some reason that you cannot use the media from the kit above for the install?

  11. #11
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mercyh,
    I am having a problem getting a Product Key for the Windows 7 Downgrade. The directions say to install using the OEM media and the old product Key and then call the telephone number for activation. Explain it to the person and they should give you a key.
    The problem is I have called three times and they say they only do Activation, I need to call my Microsoft Reseller. The Reseller tells me to call the 888 Activation number.

    A vicious Circle!

    In addition, some Microsoft people say the offer ended September 1, 2009, Yet this Microsoft Web Site:
    http://oem.microsoft.com/script/cont...52836#windows7

    Says: "Note that Windows 7 end user downgrade rights will be available for approximately 18 months after the general availability of Windows 7 (April, 2011) or the release of a Windows 7 Service Pack, whichever is earlier."

    So time is running out as SP1 is coming soon.

    Starting to think I'll take a chance on the Internet to purchase another XP Pro x65 Media kit & Product Number.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    If you are just needing the disk key here is the article I was referencing. It is basically used to sysprep an image and retain activation but I have installed off of this key with no problems. (it does mention manual install as an acceptable use.)

    This is if I am understanding you correctly that you need a key for installing XP 64bit. This is NOT a seven key.

    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/l.../bb457078.aspx

  13. #13
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Georgetown, De, USA
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Mercyh,
    I found that site last week. When I tried using that numer it says:
    According to our records, the number of times you can activate Windows with this product keyhas been exceeded. Please enter a different product key, and then Retry.

    I have a case open with SBC Replace, not sure how that is going as they say downgrade was discontinued in September 2009??
    Gotta love MS

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    interesting that dell still sells it.......

    Also interesting on that prod key. I used it a month ago to install xp pro and also tablet edition on another machine. (both had legal oem license stickers for Vista professional).


    Maybe I used the last installs........

  15. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    When I tried using that numer it says:
    According to our records, the number of times you can activate Windows with this product keyhas been exceeded. Please enter a different product key, and then Retry.
    I am trying to remember how the two installs I did actually worked. The way I remember, I used these keys when I was first asked for the key on the install disk. XP then installed already activated like a Volume license or some OEM installations.....

    Did you use this key for the installer or did you use a different key and then attempt to supply this key in the activation wizard. This key is used to "preserve OEM pre-activation when reinstalling" (quote from the technet article) therfore it may not work in the activation wizard.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •