Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Anyone know why this is happening?

    MSE has stopped updating automatically, and if I try manually I get error code 0x80248014.

    A box comes up and says cannot install updates.

    Even Microsoft don't know exacty what it is; one of their moderators suggested a Zone Alarm conflict.

    I don't even have Zone Alarm, or have any clue what it is. I'm using Vista/IE8/MSE. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    As a partial answer, my MSE does not update automatically either. Initially MSE did update auto. but there was an outcry from users that they wanted to be able to control all files loaded on their PCs. Since I have my MS Updates set to notify, but not download, my MSE updates do the same. I have to manually select the MSE updates since MSE is considered an optional update. As far as why you get the error code have you tried this approach from MS?
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    Posts
    274
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    I'm running MSE v1.0.1963.0 (the recent update) on several computers.

    I have updates Automatic Updates turned off, but run Microsoft Update every month to decide which updates I will download, install and archive on my various computers. But MSE still automatically updates on a more-or-less daily interval without notification. If I run MS Update while a new MSE definition update is pending, it lists this among other outstanding updates.

    I can find no setting in MSE that would allow me to change this automatic setting.

    Chris

  4. #4
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks Chris and Ted. But I've still not resolved this. It won't update. I get the error code, and then it says connection failed.

    My internet connection works fine for everything else. In my security centre it says MSE reports it is out of date.

    I thought maybe it meant the actual MSE program, so I reinstalled it over? the old one.

    The new installation went okay, but the outcome was the same. Needs new definitions, but I still get the error code.

    I've turned Defender back on (suggested by the security centre!) and updated its definitions no problem.

    So if Defender can manually be updated, but MSE can't, its not my connection, its summat up with MSE.

    I've contacted MS support. I'll give 'em 24 hours; after that MSE hits the road, and I'll get another freebee.

    Any recommendations? I'm thinking about Avast, but I'd much rather stick with a working MSE. What a palaver.

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ChrisJakarta View Post
    I'm running MSE v1.0.1963.0 (the recent update) on several computers.

    I have updates Automatic Updates turned off, but run Microsoft Update every month to decide which updates I will download, install and archive on my various computers. But MSE still automatically updates on a more-or-less daily interval without notification. If I run MS Update while a new MSE definition update is pending, it lists this among other outstanding updates.

    I can find no setting in MSE that would allow me to change this automatic setting.

    Chris
    I guess my confusion lies in the fact that on the days that Microsoft Updates are presented, MSE updates are listed in the optional category and have to be manually selected. So yes on other days my MSE sig files update automatically, they do not on the MS Update days.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Maghully Back View Post
    Thanks Chris and Ted. But I've still not resolved this. It won't update. I get the error code, and then it says connection failed.

    My internet connection works fine for everything else. In my security centre it says MSE reports it is out of date.

    I thought maybe it meant the actual MSE program, so I reinstalled it over? the old one.

    The new installation went okay, but the outcome was the same. Needs new definitions, but I still get the error code.

    I've turned Defender back on (suggested by the security centre!) and updated its definitions no problem.

    So if Defender can manually be updated, but MSE can't, its not my connection, its summat up with MSE.

    I've contacted MS support. I'll give 'em 24 hours; after that MSE hits the road, and I'll get another freebee.

    Any recommendations? I'm thinking about Avast, but I'd much rather stick with a working MSE. What a palaver.
    I have found that when reinstalling most apps, it is preferable to uninstall the original app before re-installing the app. I use a 3rd party uninstaller, then use a registry cleaner, then reinstall. I use either Revo Uninstaller or Absolute Uninstalle (handles 64 bit apps), then use CCleaner to cleanup all leftovers.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Liverpool, UK
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for all your advice Ted. I think everything's okay now (until the next round of definitions . . . )

    I asked Microsoft what to do and they basically said as you suggested Ted.

    Uninstall MSE (not just install the new engine over the existing one like I did initially), restart, and then reinstall.

    I got quite a clear and detailed response from them within 24 hours which I was impressed with. Thanks Karthik!

    They even gave me instructions on what to do if anything went pear-shaped during the reinstall.

    However any sort of Registry tinkering is well out of my league, so it was a good job I didn't need to do any of that.

    I've attached screengrabs of their instructions, and of the initial error box I was getting.

    Seems it was a corrupted something-or-other, and a simple uninstall/reinstall was the solution. Happy days!
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Glad my steps helped as they are definitely shorter and more to the point than what you received from MS.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •