Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    desertland, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    hey all:
    I have a clients computer I am trying to load our parts catalogue onto.
    On my computer I can right mouse click on the screen - select "personalize" and under "task" select "adjust font size DPI"
    With windows 7 the fonts/icons are large and cannot be reduced this manner (it is far larger then my personal computer and appears to be set at the smallest level available)
    The catalogue has an "Aggree/disaggree" page that cannot be reduced or moved enough for me to "Aggree" and see if the rest of the catalogue is workable

    Any suggestions please?
    cheers:
    kio

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    See this Thread for a discussion on icons and their appearance, and changing icons.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    BTW, where is the icons folder located?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Warga View Post
    BTW, where is the icons folder located?
    Greg, Welcome to the Lounge.

    Check the link I show in Post # 2 for a discussion of icons and their locations in Vista and Win 7.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kio View Post
    I have a clients computer I am trying to load our parts catalogue onto.
    On my computer I can right mouse click on the screen - select "personalize" and under "task" select "adjust font size DPI"
    With windows 7 the fonts/icons are large and cannot be reduced this manner (it is far larger then my personal computer and appears to be set at the smallest level available)
    The catalogue has an "Aggree/disaggree" page that cannot be reduced or moved enough for me to "Aggree" and see if the rest of the catalogue is workable
    Try going to Control Panel | Appearance and Personalization | Display. If the left panel click on "Set custom text size (DPI)". Adjust to a setting that works.

    Joe
    Joe

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    51
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thnx. Good and helpful info there.
    nJOY!

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    56
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Quote Originally Posted by kio View Post
    hey all:
    I have a clients computer I am trying to load our parts catalogue onto.
    On my computer I can right mouse click on the screen - select "personalize" and under "task" select "adjust font size DPI"
    With windows 7 the fonts/icons are large and cannot be reduced this manner (it is far larger then my personal computer and appears to be set at the smallest level available)
    The catalogue has an "Aggree/disaggree" page that cannot be reduced or moved enough for me to "Aggree" and see if the rest of the catalogue is workable

    Any suggestions please?
    cheers:
    kio
    Have you tried setting the computer's screen resolution? Although nowadays these flat panel screens are advised to be used in their native resolution, it still can be changed in most cases.

    To check if this applies in your case, just right-click on the desktop and choose Screen resolution. There you should be able to change settings.

  8. #8
    Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    desertland, Western Australia, Australia
    Posts
    33
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Finally got it.. thanks for all the replies..
    It appears that it is actually an issue with theprogram not being reconfigured for Windows 7.
    The vendor is working toward getting the program patched.
    Good site, good work, cheers all!
    kio

  9. #9
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    At least you know the reason now. Good luck with it. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •