Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    53
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Again, computers are not my generation.

    I thought that ".NET3" was like a "service pack" for the OS and contained all the stuff from .NET 1 and . NET 2.
    From the article below from my newsletter, it seems that one might need all the .NETs with the exception currently of .NET 4.
    I currently have .NET 1 with my Win XP SP2 OS.................should I just DL and install .NET2 and .NET3 ???????????
    Computer is working fine without version 2 and 3.
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it ?????????

    Thanks in advance.

    From my newsletter >>>>>>>>>>>>>>

    Which version of .NET do you really need?

    One of the common .NET questions I get is, "What is it?" The next question is, "Do I need it?"

    The answer to the first question is easy: .NET is a platform developers use to build business applications and other solutions such as support and help apps. But explaining whether you need it is much harder.

    I need .NET 1.1 on my Windows Small Business Server (SBS) 2003 boxes for the Remote Web Workplace application I use. I need .NET 2 for my Windows Software Update Servers. And I need .NET 2 for several versions of QuickBooks I have installed. Moreover, several computers I set up lately have OEM applications that use .NET such as HP Solution Center and HP Health Service.

    But chances are, you don't have anything that has been built on .NET4, the most-recent .NET to be offered up. So, I recommend you don't install it until you have to - app vendors will bundle the update with their product when they release it.

    ► What to do: If you're offered updates for .NET 1, 2 or 3, update it. But pass on .NET 4.

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,573
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    If you install or use an application that requires a different version of .NET than what you have on the system you will be notified. Unless you want to save download time in the future, don't worry about it now.

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    app vendors will bundle the update with their product when they release it.
    Usually the case right. They are like dynamic linked libraries for all developers to use in conjunction with thier own software so everybody doesn't have to write thier own. So if you don't run any software that depends on the .net framework, you don't need .net framework, though its getting tough not to be at least up to 2.0 in my experience.

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Ottawa, Canada
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    .Net 4 Personal Profile (or something to that effect), when installed from the Windows Update page, caused my PC to crash on reboot to the extent that it would not even start up. I went into Safe Mode but had to use RevoUninstaller to remove the update as Windows Installer does not work in Safe Mode. I then rebooted and cleaned up various bits and pieces of garbage which remained.

    This is the second time an MS update has disabled my XP SP3 computer and I'm now very leary of updating anything except security updates. I would also like to remove all .Net components but I recall using a program which did need something. I love RevoUninstaller as it seems to remove large numbers of registry entries related to the uninstalled components which Windows Installer leaves behind.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Posts
    15
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Arthur Williams View Post
    ► What to do: If you're offered updates for .NET 1, 2 or 3, update it. But pass on .NET 4.
    SO, I have a program (DxO Elite 6.5) that NEEDS .NET4.....I try to install and come up with failure "Generic trust failure 800B010B".

    Anyone any ideas?-

    I have a brand new (relatively- 6 months) Win7 x64 Dual Xeon box.

    Any help is welcome.

    Al

  6. #6
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Allan,

    Welcome to the lounge.

    You can give the answer here a try {scroll down for it} .
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •