Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Star Lounger
    Thanks
    We're running an old but critical DOS application on a Windows XP network. There is a label printer connected to the server that is accessed by networked computers. In order to do this, we've been using the following in a batch file: c:\windows\system32\net use lpt1 \\Server\Label /y (The server is named Server and the printer is named Label).
    We've now got a new Windows 7 machine that needs to access this printer, and apparently Net Use doesn't work the way it used to. I'm a complete Win7 noob, but I understand that it's possible. Does anyone have a clue what the syntax might be?

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I don't think the net use command is the issue. Do you have a PHYSICAL lpt1 port on this machine? if so you may have to disable it in device manager. As a test, does net use lpt2 or lpt3 work?

see the following thread

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/...2-21f457cd0b70

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    The syntax looks pretty similar apart from the /y directive.

If you type in "net use /help" without quotes at a command prompt it will show you the syntax for the command.

Administrator
    Thanks
    What OS is "Server" running? How many active connections to Server?

Joe

Star Lounger
    Thanks
    The server is running Windows Server 2003. Currently there's only about 8 active connections. That shouldn't be a problem anyway, because the Windows 7 machine is a direct swap for the XP box we took out.
    Based on the link mercyh posted, I've revised the batch file to this: c:\windows\system32\net use lpt1 \\Server\label password /USER:workgroup\username
    I'm getting a 'System error 5 access denied' message. Hey, that's progress, right?
    By the way, I can't disable LPT1. There's a necessary local printer there. This whole schmear used to work fine with the XP computer. Dang.

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks