Thread: Partition Tool

New Lounger
    Thanks
    I am new to Windows 7 and trying to determine the best way to configure my system. I have used terabyte image for windows and partitioning tool for my old windows xp computer, but it could take up to 8 hours to back up my photos and songs from external hard drives.

I was thinking of using the windows 7 partition tool to create a new partition on my oversized drive, move my photos/pictures there and use the windows imaging tool to schedule backups to external drives.

Have people had luck with the embeded tools? Any gotchas to look out for?

TIA

Regards,

Miggs

Thanks
    The Windows 7 partitioning abilities are simple and limited to resizing/formatting drives, not partitioning.
    Partition Wizard Home Edition, as one example, is a known good and workable tool for the Windows 7 os, beit 32 or 64 bit.
    Once it's done it's job it can be uninstalled easily.

The Backup and Restore tool in Windows 7 does do imaging, but yet again it is a simple but effective tool for non complicated systems. I use it myself and it works just fine for my needs: Simple primary os image backup, non complicated setup.
    I would not use any imaging tool to back up large sets of data, be they images or programs of any great size other than the primary os.
    1. It takes too long to image 300 or 600 GB even with the best of imaging programs.
    2. Why add the extra complexity of an image when a simple hard copy gets the job done just as well.

Simply back these up by hard copying them to an external drive unless they are highly compressible.
    Even with the "heavy duty" drive imaging programs it makes no sense to image content like compressed pictures or video.

My 2 cents
    CLiNT
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build: