Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Finally I'm stumped. My web browser will not access most secure sites. I say most because the microsoft test sites work. I installed Foxfire and get the same thing. From a virtual machine I can open the sites so it's not my hardware.

    I have reviewed and tried all of the recommendations offered by a google search and microsoft.

    Can anyone help?

  2. #2
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Augusta, SC
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a similar problem in October 2009 when I installed Windows-7 on a new computer. The problem was PGP. I had purchased the Win-7 version of PGP. When I finally did an install without PGP, it worked fine. About a week after I contacted PGP and told them that they had a problem, they notified me of a new and different version that fixed the problem.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Zornes View Post
    My web browser will not access most secure sites.
    Do you get a specific error message?

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    no specific messages. Just stalls. I can't even ping the site. works ok from other computerson the lan

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Zornes View Post
    My web browser will not access most secure sites.
    What operating system are you using?

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm using windows 7 ultimate and IE8.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    BUA, VARBERG, SWEDEN, EUROPE
    Posts
    23
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi,

    I think you have got some kind of virus/malware! The behavior is typical for malware,
    try this free applikation;

    http://housecall.trendmicro.com/

    / Oskarius

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    philippines
    Posts
    185
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Zornes View Post
    I'm using windows 7 ultimate and IE8.
    Please try scanning for malwares, cloud antivirus and try scanning your pc with spybot. hope this helps thanks.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •