New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hello all,

I have a Medion pc on which I have been running XP (SP3) for four years. Very early in the boot sequence it used to display an 'Intel inside' logo for about five seconds. No big deal.

But a couple of days ago it decided to display this logo for close to three minutes. This is before the Windows XP logo appears. So the sequence is:

- display driver displays a message
    - few seconds black screen
    - 3 min or so Intel logo (HDD whirrs initially, then stops and sits waiting)
    - Win XP logo et cetera.

I have inspected the BIOS but found nothing there that I could modify related to this. I am not sure whether this is the first thing Windows does or the last thing the BIOS does. I'm betting on Windows since it would be weird that BIOS settins change by themselves. But I have not a clue where to look in Windows.

Any ideas?

Thanks
    Try reinstalling or updating you chipset drivers.
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

Thanks
    This sounds like a device timeout when the bios is discovering devices.
    Are all your peripherals working normally?
    What is the boot sequence in the bios - try making the hdd the first boot device, maybe it is trying to boot from CD or USB and only goes on to the hdd once that times out.
    Might be worthwhile opening the box and checking connections.

Jock

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Clint, Jock,

Thank you for your suggestions. Getting into chipset drivers is at the limits of my experience (if not way beyond). I'll explore Jock's approach first: