Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bellevue, Washington, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Iam using WHS for backup of my machines. (two laptops and two desktops) The system was running fine with the connection to the server completing on startup. I recently shut down the server for several days due to high temperature in my computer room. (temps in the 90+ range) The shutdown was for my convenience to limit the temperature rise in the room. Since turning the server on all machines except one desktop startup fine and the WHS connects OK. However ond desktop fails to connect. The connection to WHS seems to start OK (green icon). But the LAN connection is accomplished after WHS Connector and the WHS connection fails. A restart of the WHS computer is required to make the connection. The motherboard is a Gigabyte EX58-UD3R. The startup sequence of the desktop has not changed from before the WHS shutdown.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,175
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 981 Times in 911 Posts
    How do you connect to the WHS machine? Your description is not clear.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    How do you connect to the WHS machine? Your description is not clear.
    With WHS, there is an agent to install. This is how WHS & the PC communicate and facilitate backing up the PC.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Lange View Post
    Iam using WHS for backup of my machines. (two laptops and two desktops) The system was running fine with the connection to the server completing on startup. I recently shut down the server for several days due to high temperature in my computer room. (temps in the 90+ range) The shutdown was for my convenience to limit the temperature rise in the room. Since turning the server on all machines except one desktop startup fine and the WHS connects OK. However ond desktop fails to connect. The connection to WHS seems to start OK (green icon). But the LAN connection is accomplished after WHS Connector and the WHS connection fails. A restart of the WHS computer is required to make the connection. The motherboard is a Gigabyte EX58-UD3R. The startup sequence of the desktop has not changed from before the WHS shutdown.
    What firewall are you running? Have you updated it or other startup software recently? Have added or changed any network connections such as mapped drives or networked disk drives that may not be available when the trobulesome PC boots?

    Just to double check, have you tried several re-boots of the PC to see if it ever works?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Bellevue, Washington, USA
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for the replies. The problem of WHS Connector not connecting got worse. Restarting the server would not connect. After working directly with the server the problem turned out to be a bad connection between the WHS and the router. Replacing the cable has solved the problem. Again Thanks.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,572
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,057 Times in 926 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Lange View Post
    Thanks for the replies. The problem of WHS Connector not connecting got worse. Restarting the server would not connect. After working directly with the server the problem turned out to be a bad connection between the WHS and the router. Replacing the cable has solved the problem. Again Thanks.
    Nice detective work!! Intermittent hardware problems are very difficult to diagnose. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe
    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •