Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North East CA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I used Acronis True Image Home and under the Tools & Utilities tab used the Acronis DriveCleanser to format and clean an external hard drive in preparation for doing backups. Ran the program and now I cannot find that drive. Anyone know of a way to get it back so I can use it again?

    Using Dell XPS 400, Intel Pentium D CPU 2.8 GHz, 1.9GB Ram, Radeon X300SE 128MB Hypermemory, Acommdata USB HDD 150GB, Windows XP-3
    Using Dell XPS 400, Intel Pentium D CPU 2.8 GHz, 1.9GB Ram, Radeon X300SE 128MB Hypermemory, Acommdata USB HDD 150GB, Windows XP-3

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    I would like to direct you to another thread.That has almost the same trouble,it has been resolved.My link
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North East CA
    Posts
    9
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Found a utility inside Acronis Home that would identify the drive then formatted it for use, thanks
    Using Dell XPS 400, Intel Pentium D CPU 2.8 GHz, 1.9GB Ram, Radeon X300SE 128MB Hypermemory, Acommdata USB HDD 150GB, Windows XP-3

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    C Ray, Welcome to the Lounge.

    As you discovered, once you clean any drive using a utility like this, the drive (or partition) has to be formated to use. I suspect that those using Win 7 could have also used the built inWindows Disk Manager (Type Disk Management in the search box and choose Create and format hard drive partitions) could have seen the unused space (or disk in your case) and formated it from there as well. I do not recall if XP has a Disk Management console to allow this operation in XP. It would be great info to find out if this would have been possible in XP or Vista as well.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I do not recall if XP has a Disk Management console to allow this operation in XP. It would be great info to find out if this would have been possible in XP or Vista as well.
    XP Pro has Disk Management ....
    ControlPanel>AdministrativeTools>ComputerManagemen t>DiskManagement
    Right clicking the disk gives options such as Format, Change Drive Letter, Delete, etc.

  6. #6
    4 Star Lounger SpywareDr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Riviera Beach, Maryland, USA
    Posts
    490
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 52 Times in 43 Posts
    Another way to get to it is to right-click "My Computer", (either on the Desktop or in the "Start" button), and then select "Manage".

    You can also type in diskmgmt.msc in Start>Run.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •