Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    In the attached application, most of the combo boxes won't allow auto complete and I just can't figure out why.

    I used the combo box wizard and made one that did then the next time I did the same and it didn't and I'm going crazy.

    Can someone have a look and tell me what I'm missing please.
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Kent,

    It seems the problem is with the Combo's which use a table as the source vs a query, and a very specific query at that.

    The cboMonth & cboTransaction_Type worked both based on queries while the others based on tables didn't.

    So I tried changing the others to queries but no love then I noticed the Distinct qualifier on the ones that worked! Adding that seems to have solved the problem.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks RG,

    Why would you have to put a DISTINCT on the query to make autofill work? Never had to do this before.

    Did some more testing and the results are totally bizarre. And totally inconsistent.

    I've repeated the following 8 times now with differing results.

    Without modifying the original form, I create a new form (unbound), use the combo box wizard to add a combo for the Bank Account.

    This creates a combo with a query that has an order by but not distinct.

    Sometimes autofill works on the resulting combo, sometimes not. But if it does, then the autofill in the combos on the other form start working. without any modification.

    Can someone explain that?

    I then made a copy of another database that works OK, imported the forms that didn't and they did.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kentg View Post
    Can someone explain that?
    Computer Science my foot it's all Black Magic!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    I have just had a look at this, and am also mystified by it.

    For me, adding another combo to the header of the subform was enough to fix all the other combos, and they stayed fixed even after I removed the new combo.
    Regards
    John



  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    387
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Thanks John,

    Did they stay fixed if you closed the db and reopened if?

    Kent

  7. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Mt Macedon, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,993
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 45 Times in 44 Posts
    Just had to go back and test this..Yes they did seem to stay fixed.

    [attachment=89476:autocomplete.gif]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards
    John



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •