Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southern Highlands, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    I am a novice Access user but I have created a form that can be used to enquire upon a file. When the user clicks on the shortcut that I have put on their desktop the form comes up OK but the Access toolbars are there as well. Is there a simple way I can just get the form to display without any of the Access bars thereby not allowing the user to get in and change anything - intentionally or unintentionally!
    John

  2. #2
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Crystal Beach, FL, Florida, USA
    Posts
    3,436
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 34 Times in 34 Posts

    Re: Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    >>Is there a simple way I can just get the form to display without any of the Access bars thereby not allowing the user to get in and change anything - intentionally or unintentionally!<<

    When you say "change anything", I'm assuming you mean the design of the form? If so, the easiest way is to make the database into a .mde file for use by other users (you would keep the original .mdb file in a separate "developers" directory so you can still make changes).
    Mark Liquorman
    See my website for Tips & Downloads and for my Liquorman Utilities.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Evergreen, CO, USA
    Posts
    6,623
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 60 Times in 60 Posts

    Re: Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    You can also turn off a variety of user capabilities in the Tools/Start-Up menu of your database if you don't want to resort to an MDE. If for example, you users wants to be able to create and save ad-hoc queries, using an MDE can get to be problematic.

    Another possibility is to implement Access security and set it so the user cannot change designs on you.
    Wendell

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    I should switch to Access 2000 to check there, but since that's a pain (I use both, but with my present configuration I need to reboot to switch), I'll point out that an MDE in Access 97 does allow you to create and modify queries as well as tables. Has that changed in Access 2000?

  5. #5
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Southern Highlands, New South Wales, Australia
    Posts
    84
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    Thanks everybody for your suggestions. In the end I used the startup options in the Tools menu to achieve my aim. Albeit not if the user holds down the shift key!! But I can live with that small possibility.
    Cheers
    John

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    326
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Security (A2000/Win98SE)

    You can cover that "small possibility". Do a search on allowbypasskey - it's been discussed here several times in the past. Make sure you leave yourself a "back door" if you do that though!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •