Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,178
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Hello Fellow Loungers,

    While setting up a new Dell Inspiron One I kept getting an error when I tried to boot from the System Repair disk I created and this package did NOT come with a Windows System Reinstall disk. A little googling and I came up with information I think y'all will find useful.

    DISCLAIMER: These downloads are ONLY for use with VALID Windows 7 License Keys!!!!!!!

    Links for Windows ReInstallation Images:

    All Versions
    Win 7 Home Premium 32 Bit
    Win 7 Home Premium 64 Bit

    Want a Windows System Repair Disk Image:

    Win 7 32 & 64 Bit

    I've tested the 64 Bit System Repair Disk Image and it worked like a charm - no error message! I've downloaded the 64 Bit Reinstall image but haven't burned or tested it yet - It's 3GB took over an Hour to DL over cable.

    As a side topic the System Repair Disk images are bit torrents. I've never used bit torrents before as I've always thought they were pretty much for illicit purposes. However, I needed these for this system I was setting up. So I used the Try & Decide feature of Acronis True Image Home 2010. Worked like a charm...Highly recommended.

    Update: Just tested the 64-Bit Re-installation disk - A-OK!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  2. #2
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    4,743
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 544 Times in 492 Posts
    Nice set of links. Do you know if these images contains all versions of Windows 7 or just the student Windows 7 professional offer to students that Digital River sources?

    Jerry

  3. #3
    4 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    507
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 23 Times in 15 Posts
    Looking at the link provided in the earlier post by retired Geek, I think one can safely deduce the repair disk will work with all versions of Windows 7. An extract from the page states:

    "It contains the contents of the Windows 7 DVD's "recovery center," as we've come to refer to it. It cannot be used to install or reinstall Windows 7, and just serves as a Windows PE interface to recovering your PC."

    For what it's worth, I have used a repair disk made at home with Windows 7 Professional, on Windows Professional Plus...... This seems to support the deduction above.

    As I understand it, the windows 7 installation DVD conains all versions of the product. It is the Product Key that "decides" which version you can install. The "repair disk" contained on the same installation disk is presumably "one that fits oall"
    (My Setup: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 8.1 Pro (64 bit); 16GB RAM; SAMSUNG SD840 PRO SSD (6GB/SATA III); Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 760 2GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2014 Premium, NIS 2014, etc). (UEFI-booted). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive)

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    These are dynamite links! Thank you very much!! I just purchased an ASUS EeeBox EB1501 for use as a media PC and it did not come with a system disk. Trying to get one from ASUS ranks right up there with trying to pull a tooth from a Siamese cat!! You have saved my day.

    Thank you very much!!
    -Bob Harris http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/pub...ult/cheers.gif
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Sorry for an apparently stupid question. Above I stated that I have the ASUS EeeBox 1501 and it did not come with the Win 7 reinstall DVD. I gather from what I've read that there is a 'trick' to using these ISO files. I did download one and used Nero to extract it to a DVD but the files are not visible and the DVD is not bootable.

    Since I have a licensed copy of Win 7 Home Premium on the ASUS, is it necessary for me to use that PC and use the Download package that is referred to? This is a bit confusing but probably very simple in essence.

    Thanks a lot for any thoughts on this; I'd just like to have a usable Win 7 DVD for that inevitable day..............

    --Bob
    -Bob Harris http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/pub...ult/cheers.gif
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Bob,

    Another way to go is to Image you partitions or entire HD. If you reimage whenever you make a major change or monthly as I do, if disaster strikes you are only about 1/2 hour from full recovery back to exactly where you were before the problem. Win 7 and all apps will be in place ready to go. Win 7 has it's own built in Backup and Recovery utility although I found it somewhat basic and went with Acronis True Image Home 2010. It is much more full featured for this purpose.

    Going the Image route allows a restoration of you entire system without having to reinstall Windows , then reinstall all the apps, then set up all customizations you had, etc. You slip the System Repair disk for whateverr Image software you choose, cconnect your device holding your image (I use an ext. HD for this) and run it. As I say in less than 1/2 hour your system is fully back to where it was before the disaster.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,203
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 212 Times in 199 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    I've tested the 64 Bit System Repair Disk Image and it worked like a charm - no error message!
    Your "Geekness"
    Hello, and thank you for the information.. As i am confused (as usual) The "System Repair Disk" that you are referring to, is it any different than having the original install disk ? I Know that you can do some repairs to "7" with the original disk. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,655
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 112 Times in 97 Posts
    Windows 7 has the means for users to create and burn their own System Repair disk. Click the Start orb, type in backup and restore, press enter and choose the option on the left Create a System Repair Disc. I've used it and it works fine.

    This is much quicker than downloading one from a web site.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your response, Ted. Making an early complete image is always excellent advice and in fact I've made an image. I always do that with a new PC or install, also using Acronis True Image. It's saved my neck more often than I care to acknowledge!

    I just like having the original OS CD whenever possible, hence my question. I could try again to rattle the roof at ASUS but like any large company it's sort of like screaming at the Grand Canyon. So the downloads that Retired Geek pointed out are nice but I think you need a purchase receipt or something. When downloaded and opened up to a DVD with Nero the result is a file structure that seems not possible to read and I think Microsoft has a utility that they want you to use, which means another purchase of W-7.................

    Anyway, if there were a way to LEGITIMATELY download and expand the ISO file that would be super.

    Thanks, again everyone for always provide cool insights!!


    --Bob
    -Bob Harris http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/pub...ult/cheers.gif
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,178
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fred J Usack View Post
    Your "Geekness"
    Hello, and thank you for the information.. As i am confused (as usual) The "System Repair Disk" that you are referring to, is it any different than having the original install disk ? I Know that you can do some repairs to "7" with the original disk. Regards Fred
    Fred,

    As far as I know, which ain't too awful far, if you have the original disk you're just fine! Unfortunately, the new Dell One-Piece PC I was setting up for a client {yeah, I still dabble a bit for friends} did NOT come with one! So I need to have disks for them to use if necessary while I'm cavorting around the country in my RV like I am now.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


  11. #11
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Santa Rosa, California, USA
    Posts
    275
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just one additional bit of info. Above I had mentioned that when I expanded the iso file to a DVD it was not readable; the message talked about an unsupported format and, in fact, there was no response when I inserted the DVD. I had expanded the iso using Nero.

    Then I wondered in Win 7 might have its own iso expander and, of course it does. So I tried that and sure enough I ended up with a very usable DVD just as 'Retired Geek' had stated. So, even though I've used Nero literally hundreds of times, one never knows.

    Thank you all again for a great discussion!

    --Bob Harris
    -Bob Harris http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/pub...ult/cheers.gif
    "Seek Simplicity, Then Mistrust It!"


  12. #12
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,625
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 930 Times in 851 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Harris View Post
    Just one additional bit of info. Above I had mentioned that when I expanded the iso file to a DVD it was not readable; the message talked about an unsupported format and, in fact, there was no response when I inserted the DVD. I had expanded the iso using Nero.

    Then I wondered in Win 7 might have its own iso expander and, of course it does. So I tried that and sure enough I ended up with a very usable DVD just as 'Retired Geek' had stated. So, even though I've used Nero literally hundreds of times, one never knows.

    Thank you all again for a great discussion!

    --Bob Harris
    Win 7 does have some features that work quite well. Most of these extra features are less than full featured when compared against 3rd party specialty apps, but then they are included at no extra charge so if you do not need the extra features a 3rd party app includes, then by all means try the Win 7 included feature. What's the worse than can happen, it does not work and you have to go to the 3rd party app.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  13. #13
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Slough, Berkshire UK
    Posts
    917
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bob Harris View Post
    Thanks for your response, Ted. Making an early complete image is always excellent advice and in fact I've made an image. I always do that with a new PC or install, also using Acronis True Image. It's saved my neck more often than I care to acknowledge!

    I just like having the original OS CD whenever possible, hence my question. I could try again to rattle the roof at ASUS but like any large company it's sort of like screaming at the Grand Canyon. So the downloads that Retired Geek pointed out are nice but I think you need a purchase receipt or something. When downloaded and opened up to a DVD with Nero the result is a file structure that seems not possible to read and I think Microsoft has a utility that they want you to use, which means another purchase of W-7.................

    Anyway, if there were a way to LEGITIMATELY download and expand the ISO file that would be super.

    Thanks, again everyone for always provide cool insights!!


    --Bob
    As far as I know an iso has to be burnt to CD/DVD not expanded. I have burnt iso files to disc with no problems using nero or even the built in burn option in win 7 HP.
    Clive

    All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    6,178
    Thanks
    200
    Thanked 781 Times in 715 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Curiousclive View Post
    As far as I know an iso has to be burnt to CD/DVD not expanded. I have burnt iso files to disc with no problems using nero or even the built in burn option in win 7 HP.
    Clive,

    You are correct .iso = image, e.g. an exact image of how the CD should look. They should be recorded to the CD/DVD AS IS!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    VBA Rules!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •