New Lounger
    Thanks
    Do I need to install MS .NET Framework 3.5 SP1 to allow MS Fixit Center to work properly? I am not a programmer and in order to install MS Fixit, I had to install .NET. The next day I got an MS Update notice to install SP1. Other than MS Fixit, I don't know of any other programs on my computer which require .NET. I have read cautions about installing .Net including on WS.

I have XP Pro, SP3.

Administrator
    Thanks
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    After installing .NET, often you can't tell just from an install if new program requires .NET since it is already there. Once you install .NET you are better off keeping up with the patches.

Joe
    Joe

WS Lounge VIP
    Thanks
    We run thousands of PCs with XP SP3 and .NET. Almost no problems caused by .NET. The few issues I have seen have been fixed by re-installing .NET.

cheers, Paul

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Thank You to both of you who answered my question. I appreciate your help.

Regards.

New Lounger
    Thanks
    Hi,

I just had a program upgrade require .net, I hadn't installed it, or to be more accurate I had de-installed it following advice about it making things slow down. (I thought the advice was from Secrets.... but I'm not sure) Anyway the PC, a Dell Inspiron 6400, has been a real dog ever since I installed it, since I really needed to upgrade. I had a look at the processes but only Firefox seems to require a lot of memory. Is my experience common??

Administrator
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry Mahon View Post