Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok, the program is downloaded and sitting on the desktop, click to run, get the prompt to Run or not run, click run and almost right away the monitor switches off and the computer is rebooting.

    Other circumstances: had NERO Trial Mediasuite installed on another amost identical computer, no worries, and I remember that right after the Run/no run prompt, NERO popped up an extraction window so presumably that is right where the purchased version is crashing on the other computer. The drives are traditionally labeled with plenty of room so there should be a C/temp extract area available and just to check that it wasn't a bad download I copied over the trial version and it crashed the computer in exactly the same moment of install, and I tried the purchased version on yet another computer and it sailed right through the extraction.

    So, any ideas what the problem might be?

  2. #2
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Anything in the event logs? Have you disabled the A/V? Have you tried in Safe Mode?

    Joe
    Joe

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Nothing in the event logs past 7-17 which is probably due to Windows SteadyState being in effect I'm guessing. A-V is not in the picture. Have not tried safe mode. Will the program extract and install in safe mode? I guess I'll have to give it a try the next time I cycle through a Steady State deactivation sequence if nothing else to try pops up.

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Have you run any hardware tests - RAM or disk?

    Joe
    Joe

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have not, but the system is processing and rendering up to 60 gigabytes of video a day and other than the NERO-induced heart attacks, has 100% uptime with no other apparent performance glitches.

  6. #6
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    All I've got left is to try the install in safe mode.

    Joe
    Joe

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes, I'll try that or if that doesn't work on a technical basis I'll try booting with as few startups as possible and see if that makes a difference, and I'll try to find another program that extracts in a similar manner and see if that works or not, maybe I'll even try it with SteadyState in effect since I am able to retain changes, although that's quite a change to retain....throw darts and see if one sticks

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Progress report:

    Safe mode: Extraction goes through successfully BUT, when it comes to installing, the Windows Installer Service needs to be running and guess what; Error, service cannot be started in Safe Mode, so "plink!"

    My modified idea of creating a new user account and disabling all startup items in MSConfig: Extraction goes through successfully, InstallShield fires up and succeeds on first 5 items but then fails installing .NET Framework 3.0 BUT, tried to install 3.0 seperately but upon closer inspection Add/Remove already reports that .NET Framework 3.0 SP2 is already installed, so "plink!"

    It's definitely something in the startup config data causing the crash though since as soon as I enabled the default list again and tried to run NERO; heart attack! But, if I disable half and reboot...heart attack! Enable those and disable the other half....heart attack! The only time the extraction goes through is if I click on the Disable All and reboot. I also noticed the Windows Installer service was on manual and not started, I was able to start it successfully but the InstallWizard once again got stuck on the installation of 3.0, so "plink," all my darts are stubbed and dull

    For now, "UNCLE!"

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    THUUNK! After stepping back for a while and letting the problem rattle around in my head as it may, and knowing I was not going to try hit or miss disabling the right combination of startup items (finding just one is bad enough!), I came upon the idea that since I was able to extract the program, and even though it didn't tell me where, and because I had SteadyState disabled....the NERO temp extract folder should be alive and well somewhere right?

    If only it is named with some convention whereby I can recognize it, so i searched and there among the alpha-numeric strings was N-E-R-O and it was large enough to be the right folder, I found the executable inside, picked up right where it left off and finished that darn problem install! Cat skinned, dart deeply embedded (not in the cat)

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,592
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Nice detective work. Glad you got it resolved. Thanks for posting back.

    Joe

    Joe

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •