Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have a HD drive from another PC and would like to see what is on it.
    I have three HD's on my xp home PC and use one of them as the main HD with my OS on it and the other two as storage.
    I was thinking that if I just disconnected one of the storage HD's and installed the HD that I want to read I could read whats on it.
    Would that work, or could connecting a unknown HD to my PC cause it harm?
    All the connections are the same on the odd HD as are on my other three HD's, power, IDE cable.
    Please reply.
    Catz

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    should work fine.

    I use one of these for this task:

    http://www.buy.com/prod/usb-2-0-to-s...210679778.html

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    Make sure you don't connect it as the first disk, the machine will attempt to boot from it.

    cheers, Paul

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Catz View Post
    could connecting a unknown HD to my PC cause it harm?
    Catz,
    Hello...The short answer is Yes ! If you don't know where the HD came from and whats on it you would be putting your PC at risk . Technically ..no problem The possibilities are endless that there might be "Malware " or any other "nastie" on it . The only way i would do this is have my security scan the drive before "poking around" with it .. On the other hand if you know where it came from ( ex: your aunt Betty ) i would still err on the side of caution. Remember ... "curiosity killed the Catz PC" Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks guys for your replies.
    I hooked it up as though it was one of my storage HD's and my pc did not even recognize it.
    I tried it on both storage hook up and my pc did not recognize it.
    I touched the side of the HD and could feel it running.
    I couldn't even scan it to see if there was any malware, etc.
    I did stick it into my scanner, scanned a picture of it and am enclosing a copy of the label on the HD.
    Hope this helps.
    Also there are no visible signs that my PC suffered any problems after trying to read this HD.
    See Attachment.[attachment=89493:IMG.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Catz

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    789
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    I'm sitting at an XP desktop at present, so I can't give key-stroke advice, but partition manager in Windows 7 does not show hard disks (empty ones) and you need to "tell" your system the drive is "there". Maybe this is the reason for not seeing the drive? Is it "seen" by the BIOS?
    (My Setup: Custom built: 3,70GHz Intel Core i7-4820K CPU; MSI Military Class iii X79A-GD45 Plus Motherboard; Win 10 Pro (64 bit) - (UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; GeForceGTX 980 4GB Graphics Card; Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2015 Premium, NIS 2016, VMWare Workstation12 Pro, etc). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I will re-connect the HD and check to see if it seen in the bios.
    Will get back to you.with that info.
    Catz

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Do you know where the drive came from?

    there are several possibilities.

    1> the drive is bad

    2> the drive has Linux installed on it and windows can't see the file system because it does not recognize it.

    3> the jumpers on the drive (by the plug) are set to master and you already have a master drive in the master position on the cable.

    http://www.easeus.com/resource/insta...hard-drive.htm

    NOTE: each drive has its own master/slave settings. use the diagram from the label on your drive as shown in your picture to determine the correct jumper positions.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,164
    Thanks
    47
    Thanked 976 Times in 906 Posts
    You can also use Device Manager to view the hardware.

    cheers, Paul

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I re-connected the HD and check to see if it showed up in the BIOS.
    No luck there.
    Will try Device Manager.
    Have a feeling the drive is dead.
    Also moved the jumper to each position, master,slave,etc. and the drive is still not seen by my PC.
    Catz

  11. #11
    4 Star Lounger pauliez's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    493
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    The HD is dead.
    I was under the impression it was running when I hooked it up to my PC's power, but while I was holding on to it I realized it was not running at all.
    I guess somehow it got fried.
    Thanks again for all your help.
    Now I.m going to open it up to see what makes it not tick.
    Catz

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •