Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    When I logged in today, the Flash 10.1 updater ran. But there is no Flash or Adobe program that autostarts. I checked services, all startup locations, and ran MS's autoruns program. Nothing. How did the updater start at login? Weird.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Flash is used with a browser, why would you want it in the startup group?

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne N View Post
    When I logged in today, the Flash 10.1 updater ran. But there is no Flash or Adobe program that autostarts. I checked services, all startup locations, and ran MS's autoruns program. Nothing. How did the updater start at login? Weird.
    Welcome to the Lounge!!

    Did you check Scheduled Tasks?

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yes. No entries at all.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've also wondered where the Flash updater springs up from, even though it appears harmless. Nothing identifiable as Adobe or Flash in the Services list, and a browser isn't running when it happens (usually just after booting).

  6. #6
    Super Moderator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    6,794
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 799 Times in 720 Posts
    Its probably part of the browser Flash add on.

    Jerry

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    If it's part of a browser Flash add-on, how could it run at login if no browser is open, there are no Flash or Adobe startup items, and no such browser helper objects? Maybe this is due to a cryptically-named startup item in the registry.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,585
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,059 Times in 928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wayne N View Post
    Maybe this is due to a cryptically-named startup item in the registry.
    In your first post you said you had checked all the startup locations. Is there something that you don't recognize? Did you use Autoruns for Windows or something simlilar to check the startup locations?

    Joe
    Joe

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I checked all startups using Tuneup Utilities and MS Autoruns, plus checked all services. Nothing that I didn't recognize.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •