Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    I was fiddling about with the address bar and now FF opens minimised to about 1/4 of the screen. Running version 3.6.8 on Windows 7.
    I would appreciate any suggestions which might resolve this problem. Thank you!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Have you tried pressing F11 to switch to full screen mode? How about grabbing a corner of the FF window and dragging it to a larger size? Both of these should allow the window to display larger than 1/4 size.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dianne18 View Post
    I was fiddling about with the address bar and now FF opens minimised to about 1/4 of the screen. Running version 3.6.8 on Windows 7.
    Most Windows applications store the last used dimensions of windows and launch new windows at that size. Firefox also remembers which toolbars were displayed, whether the find bar was open, and various other things. If you manually resize the window using the drag handle in the lower right corner of the window (not maximizing, or using full screen), Firefox should store that.

    Any luck? If Firefox does not remember your settings, there might be a problem in one of the program's settings files.

  4. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    Thank you both- repeatedly dragging the window to full screen didn't fix the problem, but now at last it seems to have jogged FF's memory, and it is now opening full screen.

  5. #5
    Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    A Texas State of Mind
    Posts
    44
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    when that happens open a second firefox browser instance(not a tab) and drag it out to full size, then shut the original smaller browser window using the file>close option not the x, then on the second full size firefox instance close it the same way by using the file>close/quit option, the next time you open the window it should then have the same full size as the last window you closed.
    registered Linux user:476595

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Ashmore, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    358
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
    That is a very useful tip! Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •