Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    hemel hempstead uk
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Not sure whether this should be a win 7 or networking post
    I have two computers running win 7 home premium on a network one hard wired to a router one wireless.
    I can see both computer on "view network devices" and I can share files and printers between them.
    When I try to use "full network map" I get the following error message:- Windows cannot discover any computer device.
    The workbook on both computers is ' WORKGROUP'. Not using Homegroup as I hope to connect an XP computer later.Both are Home Network.
    All advanced network settings --network discovery etc---are as recommended.
    Any suggestions please.
    Ian MacBean

  2. #2
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Ian,

    Interesting...

    My Win 7 machines {32bit Desktop & 64bit Laptop} show up up just fine (see below). However my wife's XP SP-3 laptop doesn't show up, but it does on my Network Magic Map (also see below).

    However, on my Laptop the WD-Net Center NAS {devices not placed on map} doesn't show while it does on the Desktop at the bottom of the Win 7 Network map.

    Unrelated to your post but interesting none the less is that Network Magic tells me my wife's machine doesn't have Anti-Virus installed...All 3 machines have MSE {Microsoft Security Essentials} installed, but doesn't complain about it on the two Win 7 machines.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    My Win 7 machines {32bit Desktop & 64bit Laptop} show up up just fine (see below). However my wife's XP SP-3 laptop doesn't show up, but it does on my Network Magic Map (also see below).
    See Network Map in Windows Vista does not display computers that are running Windows XP for a hotfix for XP SP-3.

    Joe
    Joe

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger chowur's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    804
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 54 Times in 51 Posts
    Once you have your Network Map open.Click on the,(Network map of) the little arrow to the far right.Which you will see a drop list.And the other computer should be listed.
    If by chance the above didn't help.Here's a link that might;MS trouble shoot
    Problems cannot be solved by the same level of thinking that created them. -Albert Einsten

  5. #5
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,435
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Fix works fine on my Dual boot XP-SP3/Ubuntu HP Desktop. Can't get to my wife's laptop to try it there.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  6. #6
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    hemel hempstead uk
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Looks as if haven't explained the problem properly. I haven't tried to access the xp computer(as yet) as I know that needs a different procedure.
    I can't get a network map from either of the win 7 computers, just get the referenced error message as above. Interestingly I have booted one the computers to Vista( dual boot system) and that produces a perfectly good Network Map
    Thanks Ron B Owen for the link which I have tried but doesn't address the specific problem

  7. #7
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    hemel hempstead uk
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Just in case anyone has the same problem as me I have found a workaround. Failure to load the network map only occurs after waking from sleep.
    Rebooting removes the difficulty which recurs after the next sleep. Would still like to have a proper fix

  8. #8
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Montréal
    Posts
    1,795
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 52 Times in 51 Posts
    Good morning Ian.

    >>>> Failure to load the network map only occurs after waking from sleep.

    I had this beat from day-1, I never go to sleep, huh! I mean I never put my machine to sleep.

    I run two Win 7 machines and also two XPP ones. I found that to get good Network working, the 4 machines have to be passworded in Users. Then, when I try to see another machine, it asks for the PW and after giving it, it opens up. Anybody else found this or is it just me gone to sleep ? JP

  9. #9
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    hemel hempstead uk
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi Jean
    My set up is almost the same as yours two Win7 and two XP networked, 3 wireless one hard wired. I don't have user accounts or passwords and all the computers share an internet connection files and printers and all use sleep or hibernate. The only problem is with the network map after sleep on the Win 7's----- not I admit a serious problem.
    Ian

  10. #10
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Are the two computers members of the same Homegroup? When connecting to an XP machine it requires a defined Workgroup, two Windows 7 machines require a defined Homegroup. Failing to do this will allow the Network & Sharing Center to see the other machine but not any shared files on that machine. Also, make sure both machines are set for Home network and not Public! In that case the computer set to Public will not be visible to the other at all! Most problems like this are usually something extremely simple and thus I remind you to check this before getting into all this other complicated stuff! 90% of the time it's a stupid setting, let me assure you!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ian macbean View Post
    Not using Homegroup as I hope to connect an XP computer later.Both are Home Network.
    Ian MacBean
    Hi Ian,

    Creating a homegroup is not necessary in order to network your Windows 7 computers. Using the networking methods that have always been available in Windows enables the sharing of folders, files and printers. However, you can feel free to create a homegroup without being concerned about an XP computer you may add later. While only your Windows 7 computers will be able to use the homegroup functionality, your Windows 7 and XP machines will network together using the standard sharing and permissions that have been used for years, without interfering with the homegroup.

    In other words, creating a homegroup will not lock an XP computer out of your network.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  12. #12
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    hemel hempstead uk
    Posts
    73
    Thanks
    21
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks to everyone for the helpful advice. To summarise, I have a home network with four computers 2 with win 7 and two with xp which works fine. All communicate wwith each other via a 'wokgroup'.
    My only problem is that following awake from sleep neither win 7 computer will produce a full network map. Cisco 'network magic' produces a network map so I believe this is a win 7 problem rather than a network problem. Separately I tried the two win 7 's on a 'homegroup' and the same problem occured.

  13. #13
    New Lounger Snoopy50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Tauranga, New Zealand
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hi Ian,
    I have found the same problem when I did a check by putting W7 to sleep.

    I found a quick work around by clicking my connection in task bar and disconnecting then re- connecting network.
    This only takes approx 20 to 30 seconds and save's having to reboot PC.

    I don't normally suffer the problem as I use Hibernation and the problem does not occur. So I guess you are right that it is a W7 sleep fault. I guess its to do with the Link Layer mapper or the Link Layer responder that's used to discover other PC and produce the map.
    [attachment=89929:Capture1.JPG]
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •