Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: Product Key

  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Loungers, I have uesd 'Software Inspector for Windows (SIW), Microsoft Baseline Security Advisor (MBSA), Magic Jelly Bean, Belarc Advisor + Microsoft Genuine Advantage Diagnostic tool. None of them give the key as printed on the sticker on my computer. Why ?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Was your computer OEM installed? On most OEM machines you do not actually have to enter the key that is on the case as they are pre activated.

    Do you really think that there is somebody at Dell that their only job is to enter thousands of activation keys a day?

    OEM's install with an image that is used on thousands of machines. This image has a key preconfigured that will activate. All machines installed with this image will have the same key.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator BATcher's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    A cultural area in SW England
    Posts
    3,421
    Thanks
    33
    Thanked 195 Times in 175 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    Hi Loungers, I have used 'Software Inspector for Windows (SIW), Microsoft Baseline Security Advisor (MBSA), Magic Jelly Bean, Belarc Advisor + Microsoft Genuine Advantage Diagnostic tool. None of them give the key as printed on the sticker on my computer. Why?
    The one you didn't try was the inestimable Nir Sofer's ProduKey - but that would have given the same results as you found with all the other programs.

    MercyH has given the full answer...
    BATcher

    Time prevents everything happening all at once...

  4. #4
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Florence, SC, USA
    Posts
    98
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
    The reason for this is Dell uses a generic key and that is entered into the Registry. All the utilities pick up that incorrect key. Your key is the one on the sticker. Make copies of it and keep with your windows disk. You will need it if you ever have to install a new hard drive.

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    My computer is a Packard Bell Laptop Vista Home Prem.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    The same goes for MOST of the large OEM's.
    I know HP and Sony the sticker numbers does not match the internal numbers.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  7. #7
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    This is from the Belarc footnote-(e) on my system ....
    (e) This is the manufacturer's factory installed product key rather than yours. You can change it to your product key here http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=45668 for Windows, or here http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=895456 for Office.

    Note that there are two different sites in that footnote to "Update Your Product Key", one is for Windows and one is for Office.

    Belarc correctly reports the key on my (Dell) (OEM) MS Office CD sticker.
    My (Dell) (OEM) Win XP Pro SP 2 cd does not have a COA nor a product key sticker.
    Has anyone tried to get a Windows Key from this site ....
    Update Your Product Key: Select Your Version of Windows
    ?

  8. #8
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Glasgow, United Kingdom, United Kingdom
    Posts
    126
    Thanks
    32
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mary G View Post
    The reason for this is Dell uses a generic key and that is entered into the Registry. All the utilities pick up that incorrect key. Your key is the one on the sticker. Make copies of it and keep with your windows disk. You will need it if you ever have to install a new hard drive.
    Write the key using a felt tip pen on the CD you will never loose the key unless you loose the disk

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    My reason for asking can be found here in post 4 I tried to do a clean install with a genuine upgrade copy of Vista Home Premium without inserting the key, then changing product key found on COA sticker on my laptop. It was preinstalled with Vista H Prem. It did not work.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  10. #10
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,436
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by James Stewart View Post
    Write the key using a felt tip pen on the CD you will never loose the key unless you loose the disk
    James,

    Be careful using felt-tipped pens on CDs unless they are specifically marked as safe for CD/DVDs.
    Many of the inks used will eat away at the reflective surface making the CD/DVD unreadable!
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  11. #11
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by James Stewart View Post
    Write the key using a felt tip pen on the CD you will never loose the key unless you loose the disk
    But it is very hard to read those numbers when the CD/DVD is is the drive.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  12. #12
    5 Star Lounger petesmst's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Posts
    790
    Thanks
    38
    Thanked 43 Times in 33 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    But it is very hard to read those numbers when the CD/DVD is is the drive.
    I would suggest it is TOTALLY impossible. Especialy while it is spinning(!)
    (My Setup: Custom built: 4.00GHz Intel Core i7-6700K CPU; MSI Z170A Gaming Carbon Motherboard (Military Class III); Win 10 Pro (64 bit)-(UEFI-booted); 16GB RAM; 512GB SAMSUNG SD850 PRO SSD; 120GB SAMSUNG 840 SSD; Seagate 2TB Barracuda SATA6G HDD; 2 X GeForceGTX 1070 8GB Graphics Card (SLI); Office 2013 Prof (32-bit); MS Project 2013 (32-bit); Acronis TI 2017 Premium, Norton Internet Security, VMWare Workstation12 Pro). WD My Book 3 1TB USB External Backup Drive). Samsung 24" Curved HD Monitor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •