Lounger
    Thanks
    I'm new to W7.
    Yesterday I was setting up a backup system to an external drive. Suddenly a screen appeared saying that I could now set up a network. Not wishing to do so I hit the red x . The next thing was that I wasd back on the desktop but with about 12 new folders on it - folders like App data - Net Hoods - Start menu - Favourites and so on. What have I done/ How can I get back to my old desk top. I notice too that when I go to My Computer it shows my c drive and my external dvd drive but not tje external back-up drive - although this does show in the left side menu. I think I have started to set up a network. How can I backtrack please?
    W

Thanks
    These are all folders in your User/User Name folder. I would open you windows explorer and look in the user/user name folder to see if these folders are still there. (User name is the name you gave the OS when first set up) If these 12 folders are not in the user/user name folder then drag them back to this folder. After doing this see if everything seems to be working properly. If there is still some question of this, then a reinstall might be in order. Was this a new PC with Win 7 pre-installed or an upgrade? If an upgrade, I would use the custom (Clean) install and not the In Place Upgrade. I have not heard of this problem before this.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted

Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)

Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

Lounger
    Thanks
    Thanks for getting back quickly. To deal with part of your reply - it is a new machine - came ready to run.
    I'll try what you suggested
    W

Lounger
    Thanks
    A PS to my last em. I cannot find the Explorer icon. It has disappeared from the all programs list. It was there -I've used it!

Lounger
    Thanks
    Found it - Panic over
    W

Thanks