Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I have a brand new hard drive that I would like to replace my 'C' drive.
    I would like to know if it is possible to use the image backup that have using win 7 backup image utility to set up this new disk?
    Or would I have to clean install a new copy of Win 7 first then try the backup to save me having to re-install everything?

Any info would be gratefully received.

thanks
    Clive
    Clive

All typing errors are my own work and subject to patents pending. Except errors by the spell checker. And that has its own patients.

Gold Lounger
    Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by Curiousclive View Post
    I have a brand new hard drive that I would like to replace my 'C' drive.

Any info would be gratefully received.

thanks
    Clive
    Clive,
    Hello. I have no knowledge of Windows ability to do what you want ... Acronis True Image Home ( 2010 v 7046) has the software to do what you want.. ( not for "free" ) i have used the "clone feature" many times. It will result in a "boot-able OS" (new HD) http://www.acronis.com/ check out their forum as well http://forum.acronis.com/ Post back if you have any questions about Acronis Regards Fred

PS: found this as well http://www.thefreecountry.com/utilit...andimage.shtml
    PlainFred

None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

5 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    Windows backup should do it nicely. Also Macrium reflect free will do the job.

http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.asp

http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...owtopic=776749