Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    Could someone go to following website and see if can be accessed: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://eisenworld.com/flash/shared/asp/home_template.asp>http://eisenworld.com/flash/shared/a...e_template.asp</A> ? It seems that all it does is flash on the screen and I can't access the site. I need some info from these people so I need to figure this out. Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    OK here, but it runs a script as soon as you access it - Flash I think.
    My security setting is set to "Ask" when scripts are to be run. If I say yes, I get in OK, if I say no, zilch.

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    My settings for Active Scripting is Enable. Are there any other settings that I might check to get into this website?

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    Shockwave installed?

    From the page source:

    codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=5,0,0,0"

    swLiveConnect="true"
    TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash"
    PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash">

  5. #5
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    I assume I have Shockwave as everything works fine when I go to Shockwave's website. It looks like I have Shockwave 8 installed if that means anything. When I go to sight I mentioned above here is what happens: While the site is trying to load a box comes up that says, "Do you want to install and run http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwa...ash/swflash.cab ?" If I click yes OR no the rest of the site loads and just keeps blinking continuously and although the little hand that points to links on the page shows in the right spots it will not work when I click it. Just for the heck of it, I right clicked on the contiously blinking page and a menu shows with options such as: zoom in, zoom out, high quality, play, loop, etc. If I make what seems to be ANY selection, the flashing stops. The link hand will show in the appropriate places but will not access anything beyond this 1st page. I have never had this situation with any website ever and need to try to access this website for some info. <img src=/S/help.gif border=0 alt=help width=23 height=15> Thanks in advance for your time.

  6. #6
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    England
    Posts
    1,306
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    For what it's worth: I get access whether or not Active Scripting is enabled, prompt or disabled. I seem to remember when I had a similar problem that re-installing the MS VM (by re-installing SP2) cured it.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    I downloaded and executed Microsoft Virtual Machine for Internet Explorer Build 3802, released 1/25/01 and this did not help. Any other thoughts ?

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    297
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Can't View a Website (IE v6.0)

    Your suggestion seems to have worked ... albeit the next day. Thanks for the help !!!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •