Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hi all,

    I have a folder on my desktop with a subfolder containing pictures downloaded directly from my digital camera. I click on a file in the subfolder or use the right click context menu, and wait for the hi-light to take effect. I then either add to the existing name at the end or insert additional characters in the name. However, before I can complete the action the whole name hi-lights and is replaced as I type. If I’m really fast I might get it done but not usually. If I use a bulk file renamer, no problem. If I copy the folder and try the rename, no problem. I only experienced this problem with this particular folder. I don't remember when this started happening but I don't think it was from the file folder creation. It just seemed to happen all of a sudden. That was several weeks ago, but now it's starting to bug me.
    Any thoughts?
    Using Win 7 64 bit.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    On my machines the full name has always defaulted as selected, and one must then left click where the edit needs to be done.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

  3. #3
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I believe whole name highlighting is the default behavior in Win 7 although the extension does not highlight as it did in XP. This can be a time saver for me as I usually change the entire name because the default naming convention with my Nikon digital leaves a lot to be desired.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveA View Post
    On my machines the full name has always defaulted as selected, and one must then left click where the edit needs to be done.

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I believe whole name highlighting is the default behavior in Win 7 although the extension does not highlight as it did in XP. This can be a time saver for me as I usually change the entire name because the default naming convention with my Nikon digital leaves a lot to be desired.
    Dave, Ted,

    Perhaps you mis-understand my dilemma. Whole name highlighting is normal but I should be able to use my right or left arrow key for instance and get out of whole name highlighting and add or change individual characters within the name. However, as I do this, it reverts back to whole name highlighting within 1 or 2 seconds.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    Norm,
    Have you tried using the mouse to insert the cursor in the highlighted name field instead of the keyboard arrow keys?
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  6. #6
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gerald Shepard View Post
    Norm,
    Have you tried using the mouse to insert the cursor in the highlighted name field instead of the keyboard arrow keys?
    Jerry,

    Yes, I think I've tried every conceivable method. It's weird.

  7. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by norm201 View Post
    Jerry,

    Yes, I think I've tried every conceivable method. It's weird.
    If you want to get rid of the annoyance

    Have you tried :-
    • Moving the folder off the desktop?
    • Setting up a new folder on the desktop to receive your camera photos?

  8. #8
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I guess I misunderstood your problem. The symptoms you are describing are very strange. Has this been going on for a while or did it just start? Any recent updates? This does not sound like virus activity, but who knows.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Runcorn, Cheshire, United Kingdom
    Posts
    372
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I guess I misunderstood your problem. The symptoms you are describing are very strange. Has this been going on for a while or did it just start? Any recent updates? This does not sound like virus activity, but who knows.

    it sounds to me as though there is some kind of refresh going on which is affecting the folder view. This may be viral related, but I do wonder if it's some other software.

    Have you started using some sort of photo cataloging software recently that might be interacting with the folder while you are working on it? Are you using third party software to download inages from the camera to the folder, and is this still running when you have the problem?

  10. #10
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Talking

    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    I guess I misunderstood your problem. The symptoms you are describing are very strange. Has this been going on for a while or did it just start? Any recent updates? This does not sound like virus activity, but who knows.

    Quote Originally Posted by Gfamily View Post
    it sounds to me as though there is some kind of refresh going on which is affecting the folder view. This may be viral related, but I do wonder if it's some other software. Have you started using some sort of photo cataloging software recently that might be interacting with the folder while you are working on it? Are you using third party software to download inages from the camera to the folder, and is this still running when you have the problem?
    I'm virus free, and no I'm not using any other program to transfer the pics from camera to desktop other than the context menu that ask how I want to open the file folder when I plug the camera in. It only happens on this particular file folder. Never happens in any other folder or media such as my back-up on another external hard drive or the Microsoft Live Sky Drive. I guess I'll have to take the suggestion of transferring the files to a new folder and eliminate the offending folder. It's just a strange phenomenon and I was hoping someone else might have experienced similar problem and have a solution. But if you guys don't have an answer then I don't think anybody can solve this one.

  11. #11
    Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Diego, CA, USA
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    [font="Comic Sans MS"]I have absolutely no problem with that but I did notice something that is different...you are using Microsoft Sky Drive. I'll bet it has something to do with that! When you're saving to your folder, is the file being also saved to the online storage site as well? If so, this is your problem! Probably some response from it that if no input is received for X amount of time, a reset to default occurs. Almost willing to bet that's what it is! Excuse me, but online storage is way to risky for my liking! You are dependent upon executives to maintain ethics and not go into your stuff and take what they please. Current trends in Corporate America have tended to convince me that none of them have ethics anymore! I keep everything on my local drives behind my firewall and my security. Nope, no online storage for me, not ever! Seriously you are just asking for trouble doing that![font]

  12. #12
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    West Seneca, NY
    Posts
    150
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Allen Morse III View Post
    [font="Comic Sans MS"]I have absolutely no problem with that but I did notice something that is different...you are using Microsoft Sky Drive. I'll bet it has something to do with that! When you're saving to your folder, is the file being also saved to the online storage site as well? If so, this is your problem! Probably some response from it that if no input is received for X amount of time, a reset to default occurs. Almost willing to bet that's what it is! Excuse me, but online storage is way to risky for my liking! You are dependent upon executives to maintain ethics and not go into your stuff and take what they please. Current trends in Corporate America have tended to convince me that none of them have ethics anymore! I keep everything on my local drives behind my firewall and my security. Nope, no online storage for me, not ever! Seriously you are just asking for trouble doing that![font]
    Hi Al,

    First, to answer your thoughts about Sky Drive and my problem. I only copy the photo's to Sky Drive periodically, not automatically or at the same time. The problem is independent. The Sky Drive has no link other than a copy and paste action. But it was a good thought.

    Secondly, I agree completely with your assessment of of online storage. In my case the pics are only of a re-modeling job of my bathroom that I'm sharing with friends as I proceed. The pics have no importance and are not revealing of any personal information. If they are lost or "used", no problem. But I think you policy of keeping everything on an "in house" level behind a firewall is smart. I do the same for other computer material.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •