Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Titusville, PA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Lately, on an XP SP3 desktop, at boot this is jumping to some 500k of RAM usage, thus running my 1G of RAM to 90% with all the other processes running. Avast 5 (free) and Windows Defender are the other security apps that run real time. Has anyone else noticed this lately? Thank You!

  2. #2
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,491
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    It's a (recently - caused by updates?) recognised problem with low RAM XP and Windows/Microsoft auto update settings.

    The recommended method of dealing with it (until MS make a real fix) is to 'toggle' the Auto update feature back to 'Windows Update' from 'Microsoft Update'.

    I don't have XP here right now, go to Windows Updates and check the settings or advanced settings and make sure you are only looking for Windows Updates. (Maybe a reboot is needed to trigger the change?).

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Titusville, PA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy Rowlands View Post
    It's a (recently - caused by updates?) recognised problem with low RAM XP and Windows/Microsoft auto update settings.

    The recommended method of dealing with it (until MS make a real fix) is to 'toggle' the Auto update feature back to 'Windows Update' from 'Microsoft Update'.

    I don't have XP here right now, go to Windows Updates and check the settings or advanced settings and make sure you are only looking for Windows Updates. (Maybe a reboot is needed to trigger the change?).
    Thank You!

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 985 Times in 915 Posts
    The real solution is to put 2GB RAM in - you will feel as though you bought a new PC.

    cheers, Paul

  5. #5
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,491
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by P T View Post
    The real solution is to put 2GB RAM in - you will feel as though you bought a new PC.
    Yes, more RAM is always useful.

    But in the last 3 weeks or so, this has been a problem for a lot of people with XP machines that were running ok prior to that time.

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    There is another commentary in the lounge at ....
    http://bro.ws/777550L
    see post #5

  7. #7
    Super Moderator satrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Cardiff, UK
    Posts
    4,491
    Thanks
    284
    Thanked 577 Times in 480 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Sullivan View Post
    There is another commentary in the lounge at ....
    http://bro.ws/777550L
    see post #5
    Good find, Tim.



    (And a good example of why Rule 3 is needed - " ... When replying to a message, keep to the topic. If your message isn't on topic, then it should be a new thread, not a reply. ... ")

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Titusville, PA
    Posts
    7
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Sullivan View Post
    There is another commentary in the lounge at ....
    http://bro.ws/777550L
    see post #5
    Has nothing to do with Adobe here!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    East Coast, USA
    Posts
    993
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
    Here is the part of the post that may apply here ....

    Sluggish XP sp3's in the August time frame

    XP sp3
    Ram of less than 512

    behavior is that when they check in with MU that the machine is sluggish
    to unusable.
    Symptom is that the box is sucking more RAM on wuauclt.exe service

    Right now the only workaround is to flip the box back to WU

    Go into the control panel, windows update, change settings, scroll down,
    change (TEMPORARILY) back to Windows update until we figure out what's
    going on.

    Got emails into WU folks and opened up a security case to get it
    investigated. Think it started occuring pre August patches but it's
    really painful now. Holler if you are seeing similar.



    " I am a LAN administrator and have been dealing with this issue the
    last couple of weeks. What a pain.

    I have had many of my XP machine with SP3 have the same problem. What I
    have observed is that wuauclt.exe uses 600+ mb of memory at peak times
    which turns a 512mb pc into a snail. "

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •