Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Afternoon -

    Am trying for some consistency in my macro list when I go into Customize/Command/macros: some are Normal.Newmacros.name
    Others are Normal.name.

    Why this difference and where can I delete the "Newmacros" part? (In the Organizer)

    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by uncle View Post
    Am trying for some consistency in my macro list when I go into Customize/Command/macros: some are Normal.Newmacros.name
    Others are Normal.name.

    Why this difference and where can I delete the "Newmacros" part? (In the Organizer)
    What version of Office? In Word 2003 I see them listed using this syntax:

    ProjectName.ModuleName.ProcedureName

    If there is a way to shorten that, it sure would be handy... perhaps when you see Normal.name that is an abbreviation for:

    ProjectName.ModuleName.Main

    (Old WordBasic macro converted to VBA.)

    == Edit ==

    The NewMacros module is where Word places macros you create using the Macro recorder. You could rename it, but I suspect that if you do, Word will re-create it the next time you record a macro.

  3. #3
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    728
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks for your response. I will "play" with some of the names.

    Another question: in Organizer/Macro Project tab, only some macros are listed....What governs that?

    Appreciate your help.

    Uncle


    Word 2003, tho the macros were imported from Word 2002

  4. #4
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    3,853
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 259 Times in 239 Posts
    I haven't verified this but I think that the module name is being included because you have two macros with the same name in different modules so Word is distinguishing between them.

    In some macro dialogs you have the ability to list macros from all templates or a single template. Check the dialog carefully to see if it is restricting your view to a particular template. Another reason you might not see a macro listed is when it is created as a function rather than a sub or maybe it is a sub with an input assigned.
    Andrew Lockton, Chrysalis Design, Melbourne Australia

  5. #5
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 93 Times in 89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by uncle View Post
    Another question: in Organizer/Macro Project tab, only some macros are listed....What governs that?
    The Organizer works at the Module level rather than the procedure/macro level.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •