Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi,

    I am running Windows XP Pro and the C: drive which is holding my OS is 34 GB. I am thinking about using Acronis True Image Home 2010 to make a backup image of my C: drive and save it to my external
    F: drive or to my internal E: drive, which is much larger..I have two questions.

    1) Will I be able to save the image of my C: drive to either the external F: drive or to the internal E: drive?
    2) Will the image backup be smaller than my 34 GB C: drive?

    Thank you. Any suggestions/advice you might have will be welcome.

    moon

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As long as its not the same physical drive its ok to save to internal. I don't know the settings for 2010 exactly but older versions at least let one set a couple different levels of compression so the image can be reduced by a third or perhaps one half of the size of the used space on the drive (not the whole drive size).

    So if you had for example 17 gigs of used space and set a moderate level of compression you would perhaps get a resulting image of roughly 12 gigs.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Pen Argyl, PA
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been using Acronis for years. I backup to an external AND an internal drive ( not at the same time) with no problems.
    As far as your second question, it depends on how much compression you choose, none, normal, high, and maximum. Obviously the higher
    the compression the smaller the image will be. HOWEVER more compression tends to increase the risk of not being able to do a restore.
    There is always a risk when one uncompresses a file, though I have never had a problem using high. My C drive has 26 gig of data compressed down to a 6.7 gig file.
    With 2010 you can also back up to a DVD ( I use re-writable ones once a month).

    I hope this helps to answer your questions

    Joe Sica

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    1) Will I be able to save the image of my C: drive to either the external F: drive or to the internal E: drive?

    You will have either option when you create the image.


    2) Will the image backup be smaller than my 34 GB C: drive?

    The image will = (the size of the USED space on the drive * the percentage of compression).

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Byron, Joe, and Mercyh, thank you very much. You have cleared up my questions.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Moon1130, hope this helps.

    [attachment=89781:xp1.jpg]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Roderunner,

    I tried to open the attached image, but I was unable to do so. Can you tell me how to open it? Thanks.

    moon1130

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Moon1130, the images usually open automatically, check your board settings.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    No, in this case the attached image seems to be broken or missing as of this posting.

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron Tarbox View Post
    No, in this case the attached image seems to be broken or missing as of this posting.
    Byron, all is OK on both my PC's (see profile)
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Deadeye81's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    2,654
    Thanks
    7
    Thanked 113 Times in 97 Posts
    I can see Roderunner's image as well, and I could see it earlier just after Moon's post#7.
    Deadeye81

    "We make a living by what we get, we make a life by what we give." Sir Winston Churchill

  12. #12
    Super Moderator CLiNT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    California & Arizona
    Posts
    6,121
    Thanks
    160
    Thanked 609 Times in 557 Posts
    I can confirm the image as well.
    I have not had any problems seeing or posting images in the Lounge...
    Attached Images Attached Images
    DRIVE IMAGING
    Invest a little time and energy in a well thought out BACKUP regimen and you will have minimal down time, and headache.

    Build your own system; get everything you want and nothing you don't.
    Latest Build:
    ASUS X99 Deluxe, Core i7-5960X, Corsair Hydro H100i, Plextor M6e 256GB M.2 SSD, Corsair DOMINATOR Platinum 32GB DDR4@2666, W8.1 64 bit,
    EVGA GTX980, Seasonic PLATINUM-1000W PSU, MountainMods U2-UFO Case, and 7 other internal drives.

  13. #13
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Gerald and Clint, [attachment=89792:Thank You.gif]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  14. #14
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    There was a short period of time when the image was not available. I looked at the thread right after roderunner made his post and the image loaded fine. I then looked at it again after moon1130 posted his request on how to open the image and I also could not view it. Later after Roderunners 07:21 post it was visible to me again......

    I don't think anyone is going crazy here. I think there was a glitch with the lounge for a couple of minutes........

  15. #15
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    471
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    I can see Roadrunner's image now. And thank you Roadrunner.

    I used the one-click store and all went well. My C: drive was compressed to 10 GB (20 GB used space) to my external F: drive. I thank everyone again for your your help.

    Roadrunnr, how did you bring up that image? It's really nice.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •