Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Vista 64 bit with IE 8

    When I search for an old URL that ends in failure, the defaul "search assistant" display is: http://searchassist.teoma.com/landing.jsf?p=cnksver&q= and then the URL that fails, etc.

    I am wondering if I can change the "search assistant" to my preferred search URL which is Google Advanced. If this is possible, where can this be changed so I no longer get dumped to the current "search assistant" of teoma?

    Thanks.

    Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Do you have Google set up as your default search engine. You do not say which browser so I will assume IE. Click on small down arrow next to the search box and see if Google is listed and set it to default. If not click on add search engine and do so.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    Do you have Google set up as your default search engine. You do not say which browser so I will assume IE. Click on small down arrow next to the search box and see if Google is listed and set it to default. If not click on add search engine and do so.
    Let's see.... "Posted 2010-08-30 18:09

    Vista 64 bit with IE 8

    When I search for an old URL that ends in failure, the defaul "search assistant" display is: http://searchassist....sf?p=cnksver&q= and then the URL that fails, etc."

    I would have thought stating up front that this was Vista 64 bit with IE 8 would have covered which browser but maybe not.

    Google is the default search as shown in the drop down box but to make sure this is clear I've attached an image.

    Jester

    [attachment=89818:Google Default.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  4. #4
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Joe

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    I did not see that initially. Being facicious does not solve anything.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Noting that article was last modified in 2002 and I did not have the "search" key but a "searchurl" key, I changed that to include the "SearchAssistant" string value and entered the Google advanced URL. No difference when I search for the URL that brought this to my attention which is http://www.trainstation.ns.ca/pages/main.html

    I continue to see "http://searchassist.teoma.com/landing.jsf?p=cnksver&q=www.trainstation.ns.ca&t=9 _19_1_0_1_6_2"

    If I use the back arrow after getting the above I see an intermediate step of "goto.searchassist.com......"

    Jester


    [attachment=89832:Registry SearchUrl 00.jpg]

    [attachment=89833:SearchAssist 00.jpg]
    Attached Images Attached Images
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  7. #7
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    St Louis, Missouri, USA
    Posts
    23,583
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 1,058 Times in 927 Posts
    Try searching the registry for part of the url such as "searchassist.teoma.com". Then you should be able to delete the key or set it to whatever you wish.

    Joe

    Joe

  8. #8
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeP View Post
    Try searching the registry for part of the url such as "searchassist.teoma.com". Then you should be able to delete the key or set it to whatever you wish.

    Joe
    As of last night's search there were no hits on any combination of that URL in my registry. I am inquiring of WOW to see if they have something in place that diverts failed resolution.

    Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  9. #9
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I poked around the "teoma.com" pages with their "suggested results" and saw a small entry for "settings". That allowed me to "opt out of this service". Since that site had an icon that seemed to imply that my cable internet provider WOW was somehow related to this unwanted "service", I chose to opt out.

    All that has done is remove the "teoma.com" page and end my journey at the Ask.com site which does essentially the same thing, provide me with an unwanted search service. I can not find anywhere on the Ask.com site a similar "opt out" option.

    I do not have any Ask software installed under that name an nothing shows up when I run HijackThis, etc.

    As long as my bookmarks are still valid I don't seem to end up down this path. However, when I click on a link that is no longer valid, this haywire process shows up.

    Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

  10. #10
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Cleveland, Ohio, USA
    Posts
    388
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I installed Firefox and the search result using the same URL went to the same "teoma.com" page as did my IE 8. So I have learned that the ISP, in this case WOW, has some DNS settings that dump 404 errors to the teoma.com page. On IE I used an Opt Out option but all that gets me is the Ask.com page. On Firefox when I select the "about this page" link I get an "Opt In" or an "Opt Out" option which does not seem to do anything so I am seeing the teoma.com page and never get to the Ask.com display.

    So I have learned that it is apparently Wow and not my box that is responsible for this nuisance.

    Jester
    I know enough to know I don't know enough

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •