Results 1 to 12 of 12
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    This is a problem I've been having with my Dell Inspiron for several years. When I click on Restart the system will shut down. It does the same from safe mode, and from the F8 Reboot. The screen will turn black after "Windows is Shutting Down," and then I hear a "click" when the HD light goes off. If I click on "Turn Off" I do not hear this "click" when the HD light turns off. To make matters more interesting, sometimes the Restart works fine for a while. It worked for about two weeks several months ago, and for one day more recently. I've tried everything possible to fix this, including msconfig and playing around with the power settings, but nothing has worked. All my files and BIOS are up to date, and I have no other problems. Here are some of the other things I've tried.

    SFC /scannow
    Check Disk
    Diagnostics

    P.S. Yesterday I found a second instance of the Works Calendar shortcut in the All Users Startup folder (which is now empty). I removed it, and Restart/Reboot started working properly, but several hours later they started shutting down again.

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Jeff, Welcome to the Lounge,

    I had a Dell 8250 that wwould not do a Restart, even after upgrading to new OS. This tells me the problem is hardwware related. The Restart never worked. When ever I did an update which required a system reboot, I had to shutdown and restart. My granddaughter still has that PC with XP SP3 installed now and it still does this. I was never able to solve this problem. Everything ran OK, all updates applied properly, but Restart never worked correctly, right from the get/go. Never seemed like a large enough problem to send back. Sorry I do not have an answer.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  3. #3
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Jeff, have you tried 'Process Explorer's' restart button?

    [attachment=89830:WSL.jpg]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  4. #4
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Roderunner... I downloaded this program, but as far as I can tell it's an enhanced version of the Task Manager. I don't think it will be any help, but it is a keeper. It shows much more info than the TM. Here's another clue to my problem. Restart was not working again yesterday. I did a forced shut down, and Restart starting working again. Can someone explain this, because a normal shut down does not have any effect on the problem?

  5. #5
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  6. #6
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Well, so far so good. The shortcut worked (%windir%\System32\shutdown.exe -r --t 01), and then the start menu "restart" worked also. Don't know how long it will stay that way. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Jeff, thanks for that. Long may it work.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    As usual it reverted back to shutting down. It seems something is causing the HD to stop. Maybe it's happening when the system is "saving the settings," and that's why a forced shutdown will correct the problem.

  9. #9
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Jeff, have you tried a full disk ckeck?

    [attachment=89851:x.PNG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  10. #10
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I've done that several times.

  11. #11
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Jeff, have you tried any other forum re your problem?
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  12. #12
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Sunrise, FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •