4 Star Lounger
    Thanks
    I've been running XP Pro SP2 for several years (came loaded on the HP computer). Because of some flakiness in the system after all these years, I did a system rebuild (per Fred Langa's instructions on this site: http://www.informationweek.com/news/...leID=189500364). Worked exactly as advertised, and only minor tweaking was required to bring it back to where it was when I started.

I've been using my Epson Stylus Color 850 printer via a parallel port connection (it has no USB connectivity) since way back in the Win 2000 days, and continue to use it with my XP system (using the W2k driver, since Epson never updated the driver for XP). The driver works fine with XP. Before I rebuilt the XP system, when I would go to Control Panel/Printers and Faxes, my printer would show up as "EPSON Stylus COLOR 850". Right-clicking on Properties would bring up a comprehensive dialog for adjusting the printer settings and preferences.

Since I've rebuilt the OS, I still show EPSON Stylus COLOR 850 in the Printers and Faxes app, it still brings up the same Properties dialog, and it's still listed as my default printer.
    However, I now also show another printer in the Printers and Faxes window, listed as Epson Stylus COLOR 850 ESC/P 2. Right-clicking on Properties for this printer brings up a much less comprehensive dialog for settings and preferences. A discussion with Epson tech support (who really don't want to hear that their W2k driver works with XP), said that the new printer listing is because Windows XP has installed the printer using the Windows driver (not Epson's), so that the printer is showing twice, once for each driver. They suggested that I use the Windows driver, because they won't stand behind the W2k driver in XP. But the W2k driver is a much more comprehensive driver, and works fine.