Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Lounger
    Thanks
    Backing up my computer using Windows 7 seems to take an age; yesterday I started it at 9am, and still had to leave it running overnight to get it done.

My ‘My Documents’ folder is less than 60GB, ‘My Pictures’ less than 10GB, and ‘My Music’ about 32GB. Outlook folders add roughly another 5GB. I have a new gaming PC and a new external hard drive, so I don’t think the hardware is to blame.

Two other aspects of Windows 7 backup I don’t like are 1) it does not overwrite the previous backup, but saves each one, and 2) it saves everything is such a way that you cannot look at individual files and folders on the backed up copy.

A lot of my files are downloaded material (pdfs etc) that will not change from one backup to the next, but which I need to have easily hand. A rather small proportion are files I have generated or revised myself (articles etc – I am a writer) which will change between backups.

What I would like is a backup system that 1) over-writes previous backups, 2) skips files which already exist on the backup disc and have not been revised, 3) backs up files which have been revised since the last backup and overwrites the previous version on the backup disc, 4) (ideally) replicates the filing system I have created on my main machine and lets me view it on the backup drive, and 5) doesn’t take all night about it.

I don’t think I can get all this out of Windows 7 – or have I missed something? Alternatively, can anyone recommend a programme that delivers all this at reasonable cost?

Thanks
    My ‘My Documents’ folder is less than 60GB, ‘My Pictures’ less than 10GB, and ‘My Music’ about 32GB. Outlook folders add roughly another 5GB. I have a new gaming PC and a new external hard drive, so I don’t think the hardware is to blame.
    Consider moving the bulk of your personal data off the primary drive and you will not have so much data to have to image in the first place.