Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Hi Loungers, below is an ATT. showing 2 images made using Acronis T I 2010, using both backup methods. No changes were made between backups to an EXT hdd. Q. why are sizes different ?

    [attachment=89872:White Paper.JPG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Just a guess, but it is likely that Acronis added a log or 'cookie' file somewhere on the drive, while or after backing it up.
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  3. #3
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,434
    Thanks
    372
    Thanked 1,457 Times in 1,326 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roderunner View Post
    using both backup methods.
    [attachment=89872:White Paper.JPG]
    R.R.

    I guess it's the difference between Image & Sector by Sector methods.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #4
    Gold Lounger
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Johnson City, Tennessee, USA
    Posts
    3,202
    Thanks
    37
    Thanked 215 Times in 202 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    R.R.

    I guess it's the difference between Image & Sector by Sector methods.
    Hello "Geekster"
    The Sector X Sector backup would have been almost the same size as the drive or partition. As the "Sector" approach images empty sectors as well as the sectors containing data. I have also seen small differences between images taken on the same day as well .... never considered it worth worrying about. Regards Fred
    PlainFred

    None are so hopelessly enslaved as those who falsely believe they are free (J. W. Von Goethe)

  5. #5
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    RR, I would guess there are just a few more temp files on the one image. I always clear as much as possible before creating an image. There may also be some other changes with updates that would change the size.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RussB View Post
    Just a guess, but it is likely that Acronis added a log or 'cookie' file somewhere on the drive, while or after backing it up.
    Definately not log files

    [attachment=89874:q.PNG]
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  7. #7
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RetiredGeek View Post
    R.R.

    I guess it's the difference between Image & Sector by Sector methods.
    I never used sector by sector method. Just Disk & One Click Backup.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  8. #8
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ted Myers View Post
    RR, I would guess there are just a few more temp files on the one image. I always clear as much as possible before creating an image. There may also be some other changes with updates that would change the size.

    Ted, I always do as you described. No updates were added.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger RussB's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Grand Rapids, Michigan
    Posts
    803
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 50 Times in 49 Posts
    Have you tried mounting and doing a full compare of both BU's?
    Do you "Believe"? Do you vote? Please Read:
    LEARN something today so you can TEACH something tomorrow.
    DETAIL in your question promotes DETAIL in my answer.
    Dominus Vobiscum <))>(

  10. #10
    Gold Lounger Roderunner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Scotland.
    Posts
    3,462
    Thanks
    16
    Thanked 216 Times in 183 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RussB View Post
    Have you tried mounting and doing a full compare of both BU's?
    Yes I have, but as my C: drive has all the programs installed that I need, only time it changes is when update/updates are added, so it showed very little.
    O wad some Power the giftie gie us, to see oursels as ithers see us!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •