Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Accra, Ghana
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I accidentally unplugged my external hard drive while copying a movie file (yeah yeah, I know- silly mistake...).
    Now when I plug the devise in, it clicks as if the comp recognizes it, but it does not show under My Computer.
    Under System -> Hardware -> Device Manager -> USB Controllers it shows "USB Mass Storage Device" it indicates the device working properly, with location as "Location 0 (External )"

    What can I do to revive my drive???

    Also, the device is a Cavalry 500GB, but when I used EASEUS, it indicated that there is an unknown drive with 2 TB size. Why???

    Thanks all.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,191
    Thanks
    48
    Thanked 986 Times in 916 Posts
    You may have a corrupt drive which Windows thinks needs formatting.
    Open Disk Manager - Start > Run > diskmgmt.msc
    Windows will tell you the status of all drives it sees.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Accra, Ghana
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thank Paul.
    I tried but it didn't show the hard drive...

  4. #4
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    It is entirely possible that you may have to re-format your ext HD. I might try Partition Wizard (free partitioning app) to see if it can see your ext HD.

    Does the ext HD show up in Windows Explorer when it is plugged in? Perhaps if it does you can open it and attempt recovery of files prior to a re-format. There are many data recovery tools displayed during a Google search. I hope this helps.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  5. #5
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Burrton, KS, USA
    Posts
    833
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    long discussion on the same problem here:

    http://lounge.windowssecrets.com/ind...owtopic=777927

  6. #6
    Plutonium Lounger Medico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    12,631
    Thanks
    161
    Thanked 936 Times in 856 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mercyh View Post
    long discussion on the same problem here:

    http://lounge.window...howtopic=777927
    I thought "Deja Vue" when I started reading this topic.
    BACKUP...BACKUP...BACKUP
    Have a Great Day! Ted


    Sony Vaio Laptop, 2.53 GHz Duo Core Intel CPU, 8 GB RAM, 320 GB HD
    Win 8 Pro (64 Bit), IE 10 (64 Bit)


    Complete PC Specs: By Speccy

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Accra, Ghana
    Posts
    3
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Yeah. I've read the topic and did my best, but I guess my computer knowledge/skills are just not up to par...
    The device manager indicates my hard drive has over 2TB, where it actually has only 500GB.
    I have no idea how to work the BIOS (it did not show my hard drive there), the drivers seem to be updated, and I don't know how to check he Jumpers. Could it be the case?
    I live in Ghana and any computer part is way too expensive here, so I am not sure if I should get another one...
    Quite desperate...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •