Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    Hi folks,

    We've just received our first W2K box in our office and I can't find anywhere to specify the "Computer Description" when setting the network parameters.

    In 95/98 this was on the 'Identification' tab of the 'Network' dialog (from CP or right click of Net' Neigh').

    Is this by design or has it been moved?

    Thanks in advance,

    Ade

    NB: Many more questions/problems (like why I, the NT4 server administrator, can't connect to local shares on the W2K box), but it is Friday!

  2. #2
    Plutonium Lounger Leif's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    U.K.
    Posts
    14,010
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    Right_mouse My Computer
    Properties
    Network Identification
    Network ID

  3. #3
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    To connect to the W2k box, you need your administrator name and password setup in the W2k user authorization, then you must be logged on with same name/pw. Then manually map to the 'W2k' C$, you cannot browse it up.

  4. #4
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    I was under the impression that that setting just sets the Computer Name (which I've already done), and not the "Comment" that appears when browsing in Network Neighbourhood?

  5. #5
    2 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Edinburgh, Midlothian, Scotland
    Posts
    144
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    Interesting? I am (set up in the W2K authorisation) and was able to browse to the PC's C drive via Network Neighbourhood yesterday.

    Now when I try, I am prompted for a password to connect to Machine_NameIPC$ and the adminstrators password doesn't work?

    Confused..I am?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Renton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,560
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Re: Network Browsing & 'Computer Description'

    "adminstrators password doesn't work" looks like the admin account and password on the local machine is different, from the network Admin account and password. Most of this type of changes must be made while logged in on the local machine.

    Now running HP Pavilion a6528p, with Win7 64 Bit OS.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •